Archive | 5:33 pm

My Friendship Tree

15 Mar

I have an Infamous Jade plant – also known to some as a Friendship Tree. It is about 9 years old.

It has wintered inside the apartment, along with our other 5 plants. But now that the forecast says no freezing temps this week – it’s time to go outside!

But as I looked at it, I noticed something very strange.

It’s been growing to one side, and to one side only.

It badly needed a haircut!

So, cut away I did.

Does it look better now?

Here are the other plants that are going outside today.

My sweet little Bay Tree

My very sad little Rosemary plant – which barely survived the winter – lack of light?

My lovely Christmas Cactus, which is like a dear, old friend – it blooms every Christmas, and still has a few buds now

My trusty Aloe – which went through a rough patch but seems a bit happier now

And a nice little plant which I’m embarrassed to say I haven’t a clue what it is, but it plays nicely with the other plants, and sometimes has little orange flowers that are unusual

Everyone seems to be very happy to be outdoors in the sunshine

Except for these sad little remnants

Does anyone want some Jade cuttings? They will make faithful companions for you. Everyone needs a Friendship Tree!

Besides, as I said – this one is Infamous! Or, it’s Mama was!

I’ll tell you why, tomorrow. Now I must go and scan in some pictures of Mama Plant, and her Infamous history.

xoxo,

SAllan

P.S. Thanks to our pal Wikipedia, here is a picture of a 27-year old Jade plant from Wales. Yikes! And I think I have it bad!!