Fabulous And Easy Buffalo Chicken Wings

11 Jan

A dear, sweet, wonderful friend gave me a box of hot sauce recently – 4 big bottles – heavy on the garlic and heavy on the heat.

This is a good friend who knows me well!

“Garlic-o-holic”!! screams the label on the box.

I told her that I would share the hot sauce recipes that I came upon – so here we go with Hot Sauce Recipe # 1:

Fabulous And Easy Buffalo Chicken Wings.

I started with Alton Brown’s recipe, found here on the Food Network website.

But of course I played with his recipe a little bit.

I really like the way he steams the wings before baking them. This gets a good bit of fat out of the skin. But I wanted to try to infuse some more flavor in this step of the process, so I added cayenne pepper, a bay leaf, and some crushed ground pepper to the water before steaming.

I steamed the wings for 15 minutes. Then I laid them out on a paper towel plate and refrigerated them for about 20 minutes.

(Alton says 1 hour – but I was getting hungry.)

Then I placed them on a sheet in the toaster oven and I broiled them for 15 minutes each side.

In the mean time, I grated 4 cloves of garlic with my handy-dandy grating plate

which I bought at the San Gennaro Festival (I posted a blog about it here – I love this little plate! If you’re interested, go here to their website to learn more.)

In a small saucepan, I combined the garlic mush, 1 tablespoon of butter and 1/2 cup of garlic-habanero hot sauce. I let this bubble away while the chicken cooked, until the sauce got slightly thick and totally scrumptious.

I sliced up some celery, and made a little bit of blue cheese dip (crumbled up some blue cheese into some non-fat Greek yogurt along with some chopped garlic) – and I had restaurant-quality Buffalo Chicken Wings in about 1/2 hour – for the price of $3.00 worth of wings – everything else I had in the fridge.

YUM!

Here’s my recipe:

6 wings, cut into pieces (wing tips saved for stock)

water in pot with steamer basket – add:

1 Tablespoon cayenne pepper

1 bay leaf

1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

1 teaspoon Kosher salt

Steam the wings for 15 minutes, then plate on paper towels and refrigerate for up to 1 hour

Using heavy-duty aluminum foil, spread wings out on tray and broil for 15 minutes on one side, then 10 – 15 minutes on the other side. Watch so they do not burn.

While wings are cooking, combine in saucepan:

1 Tablespoon butter

1/2 cup hot sauce

several garlic cloves (to taste) minced or crushed

Simmer the sauce for 10 minutes, longer to get thicker as desired.

For blue cheese dip:

Combine:

1/4 cup blue cheese

1/4 cup fat-free Greek yogurt

several garlic cloves (to taste) minced.

When wings are finished broiling, toss them in a bowl with the wing sauce, and enjoy with celery sticks and the blue cheese dip.

Absolutely fabulous!!

Thanks, my dear friend. You know who you are!!

xoxo,

SAllan

One Response to “Fabulous And Easy Buffalo Chicken Wings”

  1. Ellen Girone January 12, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    You are so welcome my Sherrie Amore! That recipe sounds awesome. I hope the sauce was hot and garlicky enough!

    xo,
    Ellen

Leave a Reply

