Archive | 10:42 am

How To Stay Warm On A Cold Winter’s Day

16 Jan

When we woke up this morning, it was 17 degrees outside, and very little heat was coming up in our apartment.

Two blankies and one cat on the bed were not enough to keep us warm.

Now, I’m typing by a drafty window – what’s a girl to do?

Here are 3 things I’ve done to keep warm on a cold winter’s day.

They harken back to Christmas…

My dear and wonderful and talented Eva

knitted this scarf and surprised me with it at Christmas

It’s now wrapped soft and warm and cozy around my neck.

Thank you, Eva!

And, a few years ago for Christmas, someone gave me this delicious can of MarieBelle Aztec Hot Chocolate mix.

I just whipped up a cup – oh my! so very good.

1/4 cup chocolate mix with 3/4 cup hot milk and a tiny dash of cayenne pepper – Yum! Aztec hot chocolate.

From their website:

MarieBelle Aztec Hot Chocolate is made with rich, 65% South American single-origin cacao. This smoky, perfectly smooth hot chocolate is remarkably easy to prepare. Mix with boiling water to create a full-flavored cup of European-style hot chocolate or with milk for more traditional American-style hot chocolate. Refrigerate the European version to transform into a dark Creme de Chocolat, perfect alone or in pies.”

Yesterday on “CBS Sunday Morning” they did a story on hot chocolate, and I’ve been craving a cup ever since. How happy was I to discover this beautiful tin in our cupboard – and the chocolate mix was still just as fresh and tasty as the day it was gifted to me.

Thank you, my friend!

Thirdly, I thought of these special Christmas gifts –¬†Christmas Mem’ries – which made me think of Rosemary Clooney’s incredible rendition of this moving song. So, I listened to her sing this touching song, with her unmatchable, emotional was of delivering the lyrics.

A warm glow has enveloped me – inside from the hot chocolate, outside from this soft scarf handmade by a loved one just for me, and all around from the joy that music gives.

Stay warm, my friends. Enjoy the little things that mean SO much, and be thankful for them.

xoxo,

SAllan

