Archive | 7:28 pm

Vintage Greenhouse Photographs And Postcards

15 Jan

It’s cold outside this weekend! To warm me up, I started thinking about summertime.

Which made me think of flowers.

Which made me think of growing up in greenhouses.

My Dad was a horticulturist – here were some of his greenhouses:

My sister and I grew up playing – then working – in the greenhouses.

I guess now greenhouses and flowers are in my blood.

And photography is under my skin.

Combining a couple of my loves, I’ve begun collecting a few vintage photographs of people in greenhouses. I’d like to share a few of them with you, if you’ll indulge me…

Here’s one from 1870:

And here’s one from 1898:

 I don’t know the date of this one, but I like the gentleman with the pipe:

And these children, with their “Christmas Wishes”:

I also have a few vintage greenhouse postcards, such as this one from Grant Park in Atlanta:

And this one from Central Park in New York City:

I hope that you’ve enjoyed this trip into Greenhouses Past.

The vintage photos and cards warm my very heart and soul. If not my fingers!  🙂

xoxo,

SAllan

