Archive | 11:58 am

Fabulous And Easy Buffalo Chicken Wings

11 Jan

A dear, sweet, wonderful friend gave me a box of hot sauce recently – 4 big bottles – heavy on the garlic and heavy on the heat.

This is a good friend who knows me well!

“Garlic-o-holic”!! screams the label on the box.

I told her that I would share the hot sauce recipes that I came upon – so here we go with Hot Sauce Recipe # 1:

Fabulous And Easy Buffalo Chicken Wings.

I started with Alton Brown’s recipe, found here on the Food Network website.

But of course I played with his recipe a little bit.

I really like the way he steams the wings before baking them. This gets a good bit of fat out of the skin. But I wanted to try to infuse some more flavor in this step of the process, so I added cayenne pepper, a bay leaf, and some crushed ground pepper to the water before steaming.

I steamed the wings for 15 minutes. Then I laid them out on a paper towel plate and refrigerated them for about 20 minutes.

(Alton says 1 hour – but I was getting hungry.)

Then I placed them on a sheet in the toaster oven and I broiled them for 15 minutes each side.

In the mean time, I grated 4 cloves of garlic with my handy-dandy grating plate

which I bought at the San Gennaro Festival (I posted a blog about it here – I love this little plate! If you’re interested, go here to their website to learn more.)

In a small saucepan, I combined the garlic mush, 1 tablespoon of butter and 1/2 cup of garlic-habanero hot sauce. I let this bubble away while the chicken cooked, until the sauce got slightly thick and totally scrumptious.

I sliced up some celery, and made a little bit of blue cheese dip (crumbled up some blue cheese into some non-fat Greek yogurt along with some chopped garlic) – and I had restaurant-quality Buffalo Chicken Wings in about 1/2 hour – for the price of $3.00 worth of wings – everything else I had in the fridge.

YUM!

Here’s my recipe:

6 wings, cut into pieces (wing tips saved for stock)

water in pot with steamer basket – add:

1 Tablespoon cayenne pepper

1 bay leaf

1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes

1 teaspoon Kosher salt

Steam the wings for 15 minutes, then plate on paper towels and refrigerate for up to 1 hour

Using heavy-duty aluminum foil, spread wings out on tray and broil for 15 minutes on one side, then 10 – 15 minutes on the other side. Watch so they do not burn.

While wings are cooking, combine in saucepan:

1 Tablespoon butter

1/2 cup hot sauce

several garlic cloves (to taste) minced or crushed

Simmer the sauce for 10 minutes, longer to get thicker as desired.

For blue cheese dip:

Combine:

1/4 cup blue cheese

1/4 cup fat-free Greek yogurt

several garlic cloves (to taste) minced.

When wings are finished broiling, toss them in a bowl with the wing sauce, and enjoy with celery sticks and the blue cheese dip.

Absolutely fabulous!!

Thanks, my dear friend. You know who you are!!

xoxo,

SAllan

