Archive | 11:47 am

My New Year’s Resolution, And The Value Of A Penny.

1 Jan

I usually don’t bother with ’em.

New Year’s Resolution or pennies.

But this year, my New Year’s Resolution is to count my change.

There’s a story behind this.

First of all, let me ask you – do you pay cash or credit/debit card?

(I try to pay cash for everything except for large purchases.)

If you answered cash, here’s another question – Do you pay exact change or do you have the cashier give you change?

(I always get change back, Hubby always pays with exact change.)

I like to get change back, first of all, because I like to have the quarters for laundry.

But mostly, I think it’s due to a childhood memory.

My Grandfather Paw Wee used to keep coins in ice cream gallon cardboard containers, and when my sister and I would spend the night with our Grandparents, Paw Wee would pull out those containers of coins and we would dump the coins out on the floor and play for hours.

I loved my Paw Wee.

So, me and my cans of coins somehow satisfies that little girl in me.

I get the change and I keep it in cans.

I gradually had a number of cans full, after saving coins for about 10 years. Hubby finally persuaded me to cash them in.

We were running out of room for cans filled with coins.

We made several trips wheeling the cans on a cart to our neighborhood bank, which counted and cashed the coins for free.

I had $2,235.14 worth of coins!

This was back in September 2009. Since then, I’ve been saving my coins again.

I’ve only got a can or two, so far.

But, I read recently how pre-1982 pennies are made of 95% copper. Since fine metal prices have skyrocketed, this makes these pennies worth…well, more than a penny.

So my chore now is to go through a separate the copper pennies from the zinc pennies.

Of course, I already set aside the wheat pennies that I come across.

My New Year’s Resolution?

I have in the past accepted my change from the cashier and just dropped it into my purse. I seldom count my change.

But that was then, this is now.

I’m going to count my change, from now on.

And, I’m going to pick up pennies that I see on the sidewalk.

What’s your New Year’s Resolution?

2012 – Bring It On!!!

xoxo,

SAllan

