Isn’t She Lovely?

27 Dec

I like to dabble in genealogy research from time to time.

It’s an often slow and plodding process. Thus, it’s always such an exciting moment when a clue is discovered, when a lead is followed by success.

Last Spring, I contacted the Historical Society in Eureka, Kansas – where my Grandmother was born and raised. Those wonderful people researched her family (maiden) name, and mailed me copies of some newspaper clippings, including her wedding announcement.

That announcement included the name of her high school where she graduated.

I wanted to contact the alumni director within the school – but by then it was the summertime and the school wasn’t in session.

Then time passed, and this desire got filed away on the back burner.

In early November, I did contact someone at the school. She said that they didn’t keep yearbooks from that long ago (late 1920’s), but she would get back in touch with me if she found anything pertaining to my Grandmother.

Lo and behold, a few days later I received this email from her:

Your grandmother is on the graduation wall panel.  There was 17 in her graduation class.”

I emailed back asking what the graduation wall panel was? Could she supply anything else?

No word.

Dead end.

Thanks but no thanks.

Don’t call me, I’ll call you.

Then…

On December 21st, I received this email from her:

I hope that you hadn’t gave up on me.  I had a death in the family & then my husband had to have surgery.  I haven’t been very productive.  I hope this is what you want. This picture is from the wall composite. We don’t have any yearbooks.”

She graduated in 1928 – it had her name below her picture. She was lovely. I think the picture turned out great. Merry Christmas and I hope your mother likes the picture.”

Oh yeah!

I think Mom will like the picture!

Wasn’t my 17-year old Grandmother-to-be  lovely?

xoxo,

SAllan

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Isn’t She Lovely?”

  1. margiesmom December 27, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    Absolutely beautiful! What a find, Sherrie!!

  2. Hubby December 27, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

    That is totally amazing!

  3. Ellen Girone December 28, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    She’s a beautiful woman!

Leave a Reply

