Visiting Santa – The Days Are Suddenly Very Limited!

19 Dec

How did it come to be less than a week before Christmas??!!

I realized that I hadn’t visited Santa yet!

I wanted to try to see Santa at Macy’s at Herald Square.

But the line was about 2 hours I was told, and I couldn’t even see Santa while I waited.

All I could see at the end of the line was this sign:

Since I was there to wave and snap a pic or two, I thought that perhaps my time was better spent elsewhere. Even though I greatly admire this Santa’s daily 12-hour dedication!

(Santaland at Macy’s in New York City is open from the Friday after Thanksgiving until Christmas Eve. During the holiday season, Santaland is open from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. You can enter Macy’s on 34th Street at either Broadway or 7th Avenue.)

I headed downtown to ABC Carpet & Home. I was lucky to see Santa on his last day there.

This Santa was sitting in the front of the store, and the line was outside of the store. Anyone within the store could wave to Santa and take all the pictures they wanted.

My kind of place!

This Santa is lush and old-timey.

Some of the babies cried.

Others did not.

Some of the older children were excitedly telling Santa what they wanted.

This pup was somewhat indifferent. Pup’s Mom was ecstatic!

I love ABC Carpet & Home. If you’re in New York City, you must visit – Holiday season or not.

The store is just what you’d expect from seeing their Santa room.

It’s lush, extravagant and magical. It’s been in Manhattan since 1897. From their website:

Ten floors offering an inspired collection of rugs, furniture, antiques, home textiles, accessories and sustainable furnishings.

ABC Home is a portal into collective creativity, integrating healing, education, sanctuary, theater, art, and interconnectivity to create the experience of a three-dimensional living magazine and interactive museum.”

888 & 881 Broadway
at East 19th Street
New York, NY 10003
212-473-3000

When I’m in the neighborhood (Union Square/Flatiron area) I like to go in to wander, and take pictures.

Happy Holidays, everyone! We love you, Santa!!

xoxo,

SAllan

6 Responses to “Visiting Santa – The Days Are Suddenly Very Limited!”

  1. margiesmom December 19, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    Oh my – I just love that Santa!

    • sallanscorner December 19, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

      Yes, he’s really wonderful! I love the soft color of his robe!!

  2. thatsecretary December 19, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    I’d love to see Sammycat on that Santa’s lap… LOVE the person who brought their pup!

  3. Hubby December 19, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    I was once a department store Santa in California, of all places. I was way too thin and I couldn’t understand why everyone was wearing winter coats when it was warm outside. But that ABC Carpet Santa is the real deal, and your first picture of him is gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

