Jackson Browne Plays At Zuccotti Park

2 Dec

When I heard that Jackson Browne was going to perform at Zuccotti Park at the Occupy Wall Street block in downtown Manhattan, I knew that I had to get down there.

I was a BIG Jackson Browne fan when I was about 15 years old.

I remember going to one of his concerts with a friend in Atlanta. I know it was before I could drive, because her Mom dropped us off, and my parents picked us up. My Mom got inside the venue towards the end of the concert and enjoyed watching a few songs.

My Mom liked his music, too.

She also liked his shiny long hair.

When I arrived at Zuccotti Park, it was empty. It had just been cleaned.

I wandered around for a while, and when I returned, Jackson Browne was in the park, and he was tightly surrounded. He asked for a mic check and then asked everyone to back up 2 feet, to give him a bit of breathing room.

Everyone backed up a bit and he started to play guitar.

I was about 10 people back from him. Because no amplified sound is allowed in the park, I couldn’t hear much.

And for a while, I though the only way that I could see him was through other peoples’ cell phones in the air.

Then the crowd in front of me shifted a bit and I got a few shots.

He played for about 30 minutes.

Then he made his way to the side of the park where he seemed to talk to reporters for a while, then he got into a van and was whisked away.

You can watch a video of a song he performed at the park here, and also see a brief interview.

And, this article tells us that there is “a benefit album planned with Jackson Browne, Third Eye Blind, Crosby & Nash, Devo, Lucinda Williams and even some of those drummers who kept an incessant beat at Manhattan’s Zuccotti Park.

Participants in the protest movement said Wednesday that “Occupy This Album,” which will be available sometime this winter, will also feature DJ Logic, Ladytron, Warren Haynes, Toots and the Maytals, Mike Limbaud, Aeroplane Pageant, Yo La Tengo and others.

Money raised will go through the nonprofit Alliance for Global Justice. The initial plan is that half of the proceeds will go to the New York movement that was based in Zuccotti Park until being kicked out last week, and the other half to offshoots across the world who apply for specific projects.”

Here’s a video from 1978 – Jackson Browne performing Doctor My Eyes and These Days for the BBC.

Wow, that sounds SO good.

Way past time to pull out those records again!

Thank you, Jackson Browne, for the many great songs that you have written and for all the years of some mighty fine entertainment!

Do not confront me with my failures; I had not forgotten them.”

xoxo,

SAllan

4 Responses to “Jackson Browne Plays At Zuccotti Park”

  1. Hubby December 2, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    I love the story of your mom getting into Jackson Browne concert when you were 15. When I was 13, my mom picked me up from a Bob Dylan show, but she didn’t come in, and she didn’t liked Bob Dylan’s hair either!

    • sallanscorner December 3, 2011 at 8:19 am #

      Interesting comparison – JB hair vs BD hair…

      I know who wins in that throwdown!

  2. margiesmom December 2, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    Wonderful pictures, Sherrie! Where is the “Sherrie Allan – Professional Photographer” website? No joking there.

    I have a friend who is a HUGE Jackson Brown fan, so I have to share this on Facebook so she can see it. She will LOVE it.

Leave a Reply

