Winter’s Eve At Lincoln Square – The Holiday Season Has Officially Begun!

29 Nov

When I saw this sign a week or so ago, I marked my calendar.

But, when I read that Arlo Guthrie was going to perform, I knew I had to go!

Last night was the 12th Annual Winter’s Eve At Lincoln Square.

All evening long

from Lincoln Center to the Time Warner Building in Manhattan, there was music – from the Newark Boys Chorus

and Arlo Guthrie and his family.

It was great to see Arlo!

After he played a number of songs, including some holiday-themed songs such as Rudolph The Red Nosed Reindeer, the Lincoln Square tree was lit to much fanfare.

WABC’s Sade Baderinwa and Mayor Ed Koch joined Arlo on stage to thank him for being here.

“I’m home!” Arlo said. “I’m from Coney Island.”

After the show was over, I headed down Broadway towards The Time Warner Building at Columbus Circle.

There was a clown from The Big Apple Circus

handing out clown noses to the kids

while the stars glowed overhead.

I also saw ice sculpting demos, street puppets, kids making and wearing elf hats, and food trucks giving out free cookies and hot apple cider.

It was a magical evening!

The Holiday Season has officially begun!

xoxo,

SAllan

 

2 Responses to “Winter’s Eve At Lincoln Square – The Holiday Season Has Officially Begun!”

  1. margiesmom November 29, 2011 at 9:12 am #

    Fantastic pictures! (I don’t think you know how to take any other kind.)

    YAY – the season has begun!!

    It looks like it was a great time with wonderful music. How cool to hear Arlo Guthrie in person!!

    • sallanscorner November 29, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

      Thanks, Margies Mom!! Arlo was GREAT – I had my little Flip video recorder, and recorded 2 songs and the tree lighting – just can’t post video to my blog unless it’s a YouTube link…

Leave a Reply

