A Zingy Salad Dressing – Inspired By My Love For Garlic, Ginger, Scallions!

27 Nov

If you like only mild foods, this recipe won’t be for you.

But if you like your taste buds to say “WOW!!”, then this is calling your name!

I give everything a rough chop, and throw it all in the blender as I go.

In a nutshell, here’s what I use:

I start with a bunch of cilantro. I don’t have a true measurement – it’s just the amount of cilantro that comes when I buy it. You know – “a bunch”. Chop off any roots, but leave the stems – lots of flavor in those stems! Give it a good wash, and let it dry thoroughly.

8 scallions, washed & cleaned & chopped in 1-2″ pieces.

2 jalapeños, 10 garlic cloves, 2″ piece of fresh ginger (this is what I use – naturally, use more or less according to your taste)

5 limes, zest and juice – should be about 1/2 cup of fresh juice and all the zest

2/3 Cup soy sauce

1 Cup Olive Oil

6 Tablespoons brown sugar

1 Tablespoon Sriracha Sauce (or use whatever hot sauce you like, but I LOVE Sriracha)

1 teaspoon red pepper flakes

1 teaspoon cumin

Blend this all together for some few minutes – enough to liquify the ingredients and emulsify the oil.

This fills a 4-cup Mason Jar – and if you have the basic ingredients on hand, and must only purchase the fresh items – it costs just a couple of dollars to make!

1 bunch of cilantro
8 scallions
2 jalapeños
10 garlic cloves
2″ piece of fresh ginger
5 limes, zest and juice
2/3 Cup soy sauce
1 Cup Olive Oil
6 Tablespoons brown sugar
1 Tablespoon Sriracha Sauce
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1 teaspoon cumin

YUM! Let me know how you like it!

xoxo,

SAllan

2 Responses to “A Zingy Salad Dressing – Inspired By My Love For Garlic, Ginger, Scallions!”

  1. margiesmom November 27, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    Printed! Sounds wonderful!!

    • sallanscorner November 27, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

      Let me know how you like it if you make it!!

Leave a Reply

