Thanksgiving – What Is Your Tradition?

24 Nov

Happy Thanksgiving! I hope that we all have many things to be Thankful for, today and every day.

This article on Yahoo got me wondering, what is your Thanksgiving tradition?

Here are a few of my favorite responses, from the article:

“OK, mine is a little strange. Well, ya see, my husband and I met in 1982 at Macy’s [Herald Square] Santaland the day before Thanksgiving for our holiday employment at the famous store. For the last 29 years, we try to stop by at Thanksgiving time to the eighth-floor Santaland and take a quick look at things. You see, he was Santa, and I was an elf. That was 29 years ago. It was a great job for unemployed theater people. I mean, there were 134 elves and 25 Santas the year I worked there! Don had been a Santa for a few years. But that fun day in 1982, I looked around and said, ‘That one … I want to meet that Santa.’ When we had the lunch break, I looked around for ‘that one.’ I searched in vain and turned my head. He was sitting right next to me. In July of 2012, we will celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.”

“When I was a little girl, my father had a colleague who lived on Central Park West and hosted a party the evening before the Thanksgiving Day Parade, where friends could watch the balloons getting inflated. I stopped going up for a while, but over the last 10 years or so I’ve been going up by myself the night before the parade to watch the balloons fill up. It’s quite beautiful.”

“Our Turkey Day tradition includes going to the movies. We see two major motion pictures back to back after stuffing ourselves.”

“We go around and say what we are thankful for.”

Here are a few photos from my family’s Thanksgiving in 1965.

My Mom, me, my sister and our Aunt Elsie – poor Aunt Elsie, she always got stuck sitting at The Kids’ Table.

Here’s The Adults’ Table:

and my Mom on the other side:

I hope everyone has a great day celebrating your tradition of choice, and counting your blessings.

xoxo,

SAllan

4 Responses to “Thanksgiving – What Is Your Tradition?”

  1. hubby November 24, 2011 at 8:22 am #

    Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

  2. Ellen Girone November 24, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    Happy Thanksgiving to you guys!

    • sallanscorner November 27, 2011 at 8:29 am #

      Ellen, we hope that you and Mike had a great day with your family – and, have a good time with your Mom & Dad (and Steve!)

Leave a Reply

