Cats – Pure Bred vs Mutts?

23 Nov

My pal Ellen and I recently enjoyed The Westchester Cat Show. Ellen goes every year; this was my first time.

We got quite a chuckle out of some of the signs. There were some very stern and explicit directions!

Then we settled down to look at some of those fancy cats.

I liked this one with the eyebrows

and the bobbed tail.

This Siamese had a heck of a lot of personality, and such a crazy beautiful face.

And this Sphinx was…so wise!

We both fell in love with Bengal kitties.

A Silver:

And a, er, Not Silver:

Forgive me, an expert I’m not.

But these kitties all showed so much vivaciousness and sweetness, Ellen and I wanted just to eat each one up!

There were the giant Maine Coons – in every color.

White:

Silver:

Orange:

Tortoise:

ALL gorgeous animals!

But – can any really hold a candle to Ellen’s sweet Amber Rose?

Or to our sweet Sammy?

xoxo,

SAllan

6 Responses to “Cats – Pure Bred vs Mutts?”

  1. hubby November 23, 2011 at 8:12 am #

    I want a Maine Coon! He could dust the apartment every time he walked around.

  2. margiesmom November 23, 2011 at 8:49 am #

    I think Amber Rose and Sammy are the winners!! Those Bengals looked a little….um….thick, for a Bengal. LOL. I am not surprised there were so many Maine Coons. Note to Hubby: Ragdolls are FAR superior to Maine Coons 🙂 Okay, I am a little (?!?) biased, BUT, there has been an ongoing battle between the two factions for years and years as to which is the largest domestic cat and which is the more beautiful cat AND which cat has a better temperament. I, of course, am in the Ragdoll corner and have to rally for them whenever the words, “Maine Coon” are mentioned. I like Maine Coons, too, and I think they are great cats, if you’re okay with them coming in second to Ragdolls. LOL

    It looks like you had a great time. Were there any “cat tricks” demonstrations? The last time I went to a cat show was a few years ago. It was held here at the Gwinnett Civic Center, which was another reason I went – it was close to me (you had a little hike to get to my beloved White Plains). The main thing I wanted to see (other than the cats) was the advertised “cat tricks”. If you’re thinking, “yeah, right”, you’re right. It was a glassed-in area where they had set up what looked like obstacle course items. There was a guy in there with a cat and the cat was refusing to do anything he told it to do. I thought, “shoot – my cat can do THAT”. So, in a way, if your cat has a mind of its own and does whatever it pleases, whenever it pleases, wherever it pleases, then your cat, too, is doing “cat tricks”. LOL!

    • sallanscorner November 27, 2011 at 8:35 am #

      There was a Ragdoll there; but I didn’t get a picture of him – he was a young kitty so not that large but very beautiful – black and white with VERY thick, almost un-cat-like fur.

      We didn’t see any “cat tricks” unfortunately – that would have been fun. There was a “Costume Contest”, which we missed. So much going on!

      Once at a Renaissance Festival I saw a man with his trick cats – they were truly amazing (jumping through hoops of fire, etc.) I like your story, though… 🙂

  3. Ellen Girone November 23, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

    It was a great day! I love the Cat Show! Its an annual event for me. I loved how the Tortoise cat just layed like that on her Dad’s lap. But I agree Amber Rose and Sammy are the winners!

Leave a Reply

