Not Your Mom And Pop’s Same Old Bowling Alleys, Part 1

19 Nov

There are a number of new bowling alleys in the Hell’s Kitchen/Times Square neighborhoods – I want to showcase some of them over the next few days.

Bowling – a fun indoor activity for when the days become cold and nasty. Why not go inside and use those arm muscles?

While they were a young newly-married couple, my parents used to bowl a lot. In fact, they were on bowling teams, and were quite good.

Here’s a picture that I took not too long ago – of my Dad with some of his bowling trophies.

Sadly, I didn’t inherit the Great Bowling Gene.

But, “it’s not whether you win or lose, it’s how you play the game.”

Right?

So, here is the first bowling alley I’d like to showcase.

Lucky Strike.

It’s at 42nd Street and 12th Avenue, on the far West Side of Manhattan.

It’s new and groovy!

Here are their alleys:

And here is their bar:

There is a section where you can play pool or ping pong:

I was the neighborhood Ping Pong Champ, back in high school! I love ping pong!

I also love that Mickey Mouse poster on the back wall!

Here’s a seating area – Love those Marilyn images on the wall!

In fact, I love the whole ambience of this place.

Be sure to check out their website for hours, age restrictions, dress code, etc.

Warning – unlike most of the events I showcase here on SAllan’s Corner, bowling isn’t exactly cheap in NYC.

But it is loads of fun!

Give Lucky Strike a call for their prices – 646-829-0170.

xoxo,

SAllan

Leave a Reply

