The Westchester Cat Show – This Weekend In White Plains NY!

17 Nov

There is no date on this photo, but the little tyke on the left is my Grandmother, and she appears to be no more than 5 years old – so I am guessing the picture was taken in about 1915 or earlier.

Yes, it shows the little girl who would become my T.G. – along with one of her brothers, their kitty kitty, and her new little babies.

Here is our Sammy – being a total goof ball, as usual.

In honor of all cats past, present and future… and in honor of our love of those cats… this weekend I am joining my pal Ellen.

We’re going to the Westchester Cat Show!

I can’t wait!

We’ll get to see Hale Bop – “the world’s first feline super model”.

A cat named Hale Bop models her Egyptian outfit while at the Westchester Cat Show at the County Center in White Plains Nov. 22, 2009. (Frank Becerra Jr. / The Journal News)

The show usually has over 200 feline entries of a wide variety of breeds in competition and a large number of kittens and cats for sale or adoption.”

I have also warned Ellen – no matter how much I beg, no matter how much I fall in love – Hubby will not allow me to bring home an adopted Baby.

If you are in the area and plan on going to the Westchester Cat Show, be sure to print out the 1-dollar-off coupon here.

Here’s where it’s all going down:

Westchester County Center, White Plains, New York
198 Central Ave, White Plains, NY
junction of Route 100 (Central Ave) and Route 119 (Tarrytown Rd)
914-995-4050

Sammy says “See you there!”

xoxo,

SAllan

3 Responses to “The Westchester Cat Show – This Weekend In White Plains NY!”

  1. margiesmom November 17, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    Oh, how I wish I could go. I miss White Plains and I LOVE cat shows! Have a wonderful time. Maybe there will be a blog about it? 🙂

    • sallanscorner November 17, 2011 at 9:05 am #

      MargiesMom, I plan on taking my camera and 2 lenses – the long lens mights be fun!

      I’m always disappointed when I look forward to blogging about something, and then I find out that “no cameras are allowed” – like The New Museum – I wanted so badly to see The Experience exhibit that I blogged about. When I found out they didn’t allow cameras, I didn’t go.

      But my friend Ellen has already told me that cameras are okay at The Cat Show, so there will definitely be an upcoming blog about these beautiful babies…

      Thanks as always for your support!

      Sherrie

  2. Ellen Girone November 17, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    Hi Sherrie,

    You’re going to love it! I can’t wait! We should just stay off the stage where all the strays are set up. I always want all of them. But its nice to see them get adopted. I’ve seen lots of those cardboard carriers leaving the building.

    Margie’s Mom: Did you live here in WP at one time? This is a great little city.

    Ellen

Leave a Reply

