How To Roast Pumpkin Seeds

7 Nov

Well, Halloween is over, and something must be done with The Great Pumpkin.

No, we didn’t carve ours this year. It was such a pretty pumpkin, we just admired it as-is on the living room table.

But now, it’s time for Roasted Pumpkin Seeds!

I love the very simple and tasty recipe from Mark Bittman’s cookbook “How To Cook Everything“.

GREAT book. Get it.

You start by cutting open your pumpkin

and taking all that stuff out.

You can do something with the meat of the pumpkin if you’d like (puree, roast, soup, etc.) but often jack-o-lantern pumpkins are a different variety than eating pumpkins, so they are not always as delicious.

But, the seeds are!

Remove the seeds

rinse them well

and dry them on paper towels.

Add your oil and spices – Mark Bittman suggests:

2 cups (approximately) fresh pumpkin seeds

2 Tablespoons light vegetable or olive oil

About 1 teaspoon salt

About 1 teaspoon Cayenne, or more if you like

1/2 teaspoon cumin, optional

I use the mist olive oil, and I eyeballed the spices.

Some people like to use butter.

And other seasonings work just fine too – seasoned salt, garlic powder – all good!

Toss it all together on a cookie sheet.

Then roast in a preheated oven at 350 degrees for about 40 minutes.  Stir every 10 minutes or so.

Let the seeds cool before eating, if you can make yourself wait.

Yum!

Makes me wish we had another pumpkin!

xoxo,

SAllan

6 Responses to “How To Roast Pumpkin Seeds”

  1. Hubby November 7, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    Do you remember the first pumpkin we carved, before you were living in NYC?
    I was so proud of it that I saved it it my freezer for a few months. I know I have a picture of that somewhere!

    • sallanscorner November 7, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

      YES – I have a picture of it, too. That was so sweet. But finally, you let go of it and dropped it 28 floors down the garbage chute!!

  2. agirltravels November 9, 2011 at 12:17 am #

    I just roasted pumpkins seeds for the first time last night! They were so yummy! I used butter, salt, garlic powder, and cayenne pepper.

    • sallanscorner November 9, 2011 at 7:25 am #

      You go, AGirlTravels!! The butter really does kick them up a notch.

      I added some to my salad last night. They really are so tasty, I want to go see if any of the stores have leftover pumpkins for sale so I can make more seeds.

      Sherrie

      • agirltravels November 9, 2011 at 1:27 pm #

        The butter definitely adds extra flavor. If you can’t find pumpkins you can also use the seeds inside of an acorn squash.

      • sallanscorner November 10, 2011 at 8:48 am #

        GREAT tip! Thanks – I’ll try that!!

Leave a Reply

