Yesterday On “Today” – Susan Boyle – I Think…

3 Nov

I have to admit, I’m a fan of Susan Boyle.

Well, maybe not “fan”, exactly – but I have a deep admiration for her.

Okay, I’m a fan.

On April 17, 2009 my pal Joe emailed me a link to view, and he enthused:

“I love this woman!

Listen to this!”

And I watched the video of  Susan Boyle on Britain’s Got Talent for the first time. And sobbed. And cheered.

I cheered for the 47-year old, dowdy Scottish woman, with the bad dress and the stomping feet, opened her mouth and sang like an angel before the eyes of the world.

And, I’ve been a fan ever since.

You should be able to watch it here. I just did, and I cried again. I’m SUCH a softy!

I’ve rooted for her to be able to overcome the unimaginable burden of her universe turning upside-down overnight. To overcome the strain of overnight celebrity. She had some ups and downs, but now that her third CD is about to be released, it seems like she’s showing the world how she has learned how to handle these challenges with grace.

Of course, she still sings like an angel.

She was on The Today Show yesterday. I hoped that she would be performing outdoors, so I went over early in the morn to try to get a photo for Hubby’s Mom.

She’s a fan, too.

It was a chilly morning, and perhaps for that reason (?), there was no stage set up out on the plaza. I could peer in the ground-floor window of Studio 1A, through a yellowish film (dang!) and there was Ms. Boyle. I took a few pictures (thank you, long lens!) – but that yellowish film on the studio windows (and the crowd inside the studio) kept me from getting a great shot (dang!).

She sang Joni Mitchell’s lovely song “Both Sides, Now”.

I’ve looked at life from both sides now
From win and lose and still somehow
It’s life’s illusions I recall
I really don’t know life at all

A little while later, the Today gang came out on the plaza, and despite the pushing crowd, I managed to get a snapshot or two, again thanks to my long lens:

But a couple of pictures that I took through the window after the gang went back into the studio are my favorites.

Ann Curry (is she giving me the Evil Eye??):

and Al Roker:

Call me goofy – I had fun! It’s interesting to me to see the studio (Small! Four or five sets in one small space), and I talked to Lenny.

BUT – this is VERY intriguing to me –  my camera timed the photos that I shot of  the songstress at 8:56 – 9:00. But, I Tivoed the show, and when watching it back, the time stamp on the scroll says 8:36 – 8:40 while she’s singing.

How could she have aired 20 minutes BEFORE I saw her live?

Hubby will attest that I am a stickler for correct time. My camera is MAYBE 30 seconds off.

Okay – after some investigative research with the recording of Today’s show, I have come to the conclusion that they aired a rehearsal song, and NOT what I saw live!!

I want my money back!

(Just joking about that; you can go peer into the windows of the Today studio for FREE.)

However, I am certain of my conclusion.

There was a interview that I watched being conducted BEFORE Susan sang – but on the Tivoed recording, that segment aired AFTER Susan’s performance.

And, when I saw Susan sing live, I didn’t think that I recognized the song. But, the speakers outside are rather poor, and I was so busy trying to take pictures, I wasn’t really focused on the song itself.

When I watched the show back at home, I told myself that I was just a little confused.

But – when I noticed the time difference – it all clicked.

We’ve been duped! Even by “live” TV.

I wonder if I’ll get a Pulitzer for this investigative reporting?

Well, I DID see Susan Boyle – I think… the pictures prove it.

Right?!?!

xoxo,

SAllan

P.S. (posted later) Please read the comments – a couple of intrepid fans have posted the answer to the mystery!

P.S.S. If you want to view The Today Show while you’re in NYC, follow these directions – it’s easy and FREE!

The Today Show’s studio is on ground-floor level at the corner of 49th and Rockefeller Center overlooking Rockefeller plaza. Just outside the studio each weekday many eager tourists wave signs and hope to get on television and show the world and their friends they have made it to NYC.

If you want to join them, you’ll need to get there early! People have been known to line up as early as 5:00am. Just head up to Rockefeller Plaza between 49th and 50th Streets (between 6th & 5th Streets) and park yourself outside the studio.”

23 Responses to “Yesterday On “Today” – Susan Boyle – I Think…”

  1. margiesmom November 3, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    Sherrie – that was great! I was thoroughly enjoying your writing and photography, so I was caught off-guard by your investigative finding! LOL – I love it! Thank you for doing such a great job.

    • sallanscorner November 3, 2011 at 11:43 am #

      Thanks, MargiesMom! Just call me Detective SAllan. 🙂

      It was great fun!

  2. Hubby November 3, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    Kudos from me also on figuring out that they used a recorded performance. I’m assuming someone wanted to make sure that there were no flubs. Considering that Ms. Boyle was singing early in the morning and is one of the few popular singers today who don’t use that godawful auto-tuning to cover up their mistakes, I personally have no trouble with it. And I liked the effect you got from shooting through the window. Very atmospheric!

    • sallanscorner November 3, 2011 at 11:45 am #

      Hi Hubby – well, you know me and my “synchronized clocks”! 😉

      I wondered if they thought one song might be more “commercial” than the other, but you have a very good point about the auto-tuner.

      Ugh, I HATE to think of Susan Boyle’s voice with that horrible device!

      xoxo

  3. Ellen Girone November 3, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    Ditto to all of the above Sherrie! You do such a GREAT job. I enjoy all of your blog entries!

    • sallanscorner November 4, 2011 at 7:40 am #

      Gee, you’re making me smile so big, my ears hurt!!! Thanks you SO MUCH!!!

  4. Guest November 3, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    Hehe nice detective work. Last year singing live on The View she stopped in mid-song with a throat problem – they’re not about to let that happen again!! In fact she’s on The View again tomorrow (Fri. 11 AM ET) but pre-taped it earlier this week.

    Wonder why they didn’t keep her clothing consistent – in the version they showed on TV, she was wearing a cocoa-colored drapy cardigan over black top & pants, definitely not the one in your pic (and I’ve seen other pix like yours, where she’s wearing the black cardigan w. narrow collar). Oops!

    • sallanscorner November 4, 2011 at 7:44 am #

      Hi – thank so much for your comment!! I only wish that I had seen it yesterday!

      This morning I got up at 5:30 and went to The View studio at 66th Street and West End, to try to get a ticket for the Susan Boyle taping. I was so happy when I arrived a little after 6:00 – I was the only one there. Felt pretty sure I’d score a ticket. Settled in with my coffee to wait, and then the security guard came to the window and held up a sign that said “The View – No Taping Today”.

      Grrrr.

      🙂

      Thanks, too, for your observation about her wardrobe. Interesting stuff… regardless – Love that Lady!

      Sherrie
      aka SAllan

      • Guest November 4, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

        Oh, bad luck!! Well at least you can see her on Piers Morgan’s show on CNN tonight – 9PM – and on Sunday at 8PM on TLC they’re showing a one-hour fly-on-the-wall documentary as she recorded her new album.

        She’ll be back in NYC for the Today Show again on Nov. 25. Would LOVE to hear her in person – supposed to be phenomenal!

      • sallanscorner November 4, 2011 at 5:04 pm #

        Oh, thanks for the scoop – I didn’t know about the CNN tonight or the Today Show on the 25th – will Tivo and put together a VERY nice VCR tape for my Mom-In-Law. She’ll be thrilled! Don’t tell her! 😉

      • Guest November 10, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

        Nov. 25 “Susan Boyle performs in studio.”

        http://tvpressfeed.com/2011/11/coming-up-on-today-nov-14-25-seth-meyers-diane-keaton-more/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=coming-up-on-today-nov-14-25-seth-meyers-diane-keaton-more

        Sherrie, hope you see this, I don’t want you to go on another wild goose chase, I’m wondering if Susan will NOT be live in NYC on the 25th, maybe they pretaped the performance you saw for airing on that date. That would explain the change of clothes…

        Did you see these 2 beautiful performances on YouTube? This was the Alan Titchmarsh show in the UK –

        Enjoy!

      • sallanscorner November 10, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

        Wow, thanks so much! I had not seen these videos; I really appreciate your forwarding them along.

        It will be VERY interesting to see what Ms. Boyle is wearing on the Today Show on 11/25 – to see if your theory is correct.

        Please keep in touch!

        Sherrie

    • Deb November 13, 2011 at 10:59 am #

      I’M SORRY TO REPORT YOU ARE ALL CHASING THE WRONG RABBIT. Susan sang two songs that morning. Both Sides Now aired as she was singing it, no rehearsal. At 8:53 she sang Lilac Wine which explains the change of dress. Expect Lilac Wine on the 25th.
      SHE HAD NO REHEARSALS. And unlike The View, there wasn’t tons of dry ice surrounding her in the Today Show studio.

      • sallanscorner November 13, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

        Thanks Deb for the details – much appreciated! I always like when the mystery is solved! 🙂

        Best,

        Sherrie

  5. Stephanie November 4, 2011 at 9:34 am #

    I didn’t know you blogged. I must follow you. You never stop amazing me!

    • sallanscorner November 4, 2011 at 11:04 am #

      Cool – that would be great! You can subscribe to the blog (I try to post daily) – I just added a “follow” button to the right side of the blog. Once you “click” the icon, you should get an email notification whenever I post anew.

      If it doesn’t work, please let me know. I haven’t personally done it 🙂

      Thanks, Stephanie!

  6. Deb November 13, 2011 at 10:47 am #

    I was there too. At 8:53 she sang Lilac Wine which was not aired. I suspect it may be aired on the 25th. She sang Both Sides now as it was being aired. There was no rehearsal that I saw.

    • sallanscorner November 13, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

      Hi Deb – thanks for the info! I arrived and took my first photo at 8:42 – Matt and Susan are talking at it appears that she is wearing the brown top – so I got there JUST after she finished singing “Both Sides Now”. (RATS!)

      And, the photos that I took from 8:56 – 9:00 would have been while she was singing “Lilac Wine” – a song that I did not know at the time – so this all makes sense now!

      I am looking forward to seeing that performance on 11/25.

      Thanks again,

      Sherrie

  7. Joe Sarra November 14, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    Sherrie…always the investigator!! Hope you are well! Love the blog and hope to become a regular reader of your daily entries ! Joe

    • sallanscorner November 16, 2011 at 11:40 am #

      Hi! Please put in your email address, and you’ll get an email when I publish a new blog! Thanks for the love & support!! xoxoxo

  8. Karen November 16, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    The Susan Boyle mystery has been solved for you.
    On Nov. 2, she sang Both Sides Now, LIVE, but she also sang another song that was pre-taped and will be aired on Nov. 25th!!

    • Karen November 16, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

      Also, notice that when she sang on Nov. 2, she was wearing a tan cardigan, but in your picture she appears to be in all black.

    • sallanscorner November 17, 2011 at 7:35 am #

      Thank you Karen – a couple of intrepid fans such as yourself have shed the light on this mystery! I will add a post script to the blog to let future readers know…

Leave a Reply

