“Chuck” – The Last Season. In TV Guide, Zachary Levi Interviews Joshua Gomez About It.

29 Oct

I love the TV show Chuck.

I’ve been a fanboy since the beginning of the 2nd season, when I saw an episode on a jetBlue flight. I was instantly hooked.

I bought Season 1 as soon as possible and caught up to the then-current season 2, watching episode after episode, back after back.

I found the show to be very well-written, and well-played by likable, slightly goofy actors who got under my skin, playing likable, slightly goofy characters. It was clever, funny, geeky and sweet – with a big emphasis on sweet. Many of the episodes made me tear up at the strangest moments, for reasons that I couldn’t even really define.

There’s lots of nerdy spy action, great guest stars, homage to movies and past TV shows/personalities, lots of sexy girls to keep any guy (nerd or not) hooked – hello – Yvonne Strahovski.

Yep.

And, huge for me – Scott Bakula.

Scott Bakula played Chuck’s Dad, and I am feverishly hoping that he’ll be back this season. He’s GOT to be back.

(Anyone recognize that actor on picture left, who guest starred on Chuck for several episodes?)

Chuck is now the “Little Show That Could” – surviving season after season – mostly because of its small but extremely loyal fan base, who wrote billions of letters to the network when the show was rumored to be canceled each season, who urged sponsorship by eating at Subway night after night after night, and who maintained a very vocal presence on the internets – chat boards, voting sites, etc.

The past couple of seasons of Chuck have been a little rocky. I blame the fact that the show lost a couple of its strongest writers. Because the network could never commit to the show, the show could not commit to the writers. A couple of those best writers were wooed away by other shows.

Writers have to make a living too. I get that.

Some viewers fell by the wayside, others have stuck in there.

I still love Chuck.

After the end of last season, NBC announced that they would be picking Chuck up for one last, short season – 13 final episodes.

I see this as a bitter-sweet good thing; at least the show can end the way the writers want it to, rather than an abrupt, unresolved end due to cancellation.

I don’t want it to end, but at the same time I am very interested in this last season, and how the writers will end the story…

One last season – Season 5 Episode 1 premiered last night.

Sigh, only 12 more shows to go…

Recently, in the digital version of TV GuideChuck‘s Zachary Levi interrogated costar and new superagent Joshua Gomez about the show, and its upcoming end.

Josh: Let’s just get one thing straight. If you dare to Barbara Walters me and make me cry, it ain’t gonna happen.

Zac: OK, so tell me about your childhood…

Josh: It was in New Jersey…

Zac: [Laughs] That’s all you need to cry, really. Anyway, Josh, I’m honored to be here.

Josh: I’m honored to be here, having you honor me.

Zac: You could lie a little better than that! It’s the first time I’ve ever interviewed anyone. This is an opportunity for me to spread my wings in journalism. Which is good considering I will soon be without a job.

Josh: I thought it was smart of TV Guide Magazine to get you to interview me because usually, we’re being interviewed together and we answer not a single question.

Zac: I will not let you off the hook! OK, let’s bring the viewers up to speed. When we last saw Chuck, Morgan, Sarah (Yvonne Strahovski) and Casey (Adam Baldwin) at the end of Season 4, they were no longer working for the government.

Josh: They’ve formed their own private-security firm, Carmichael Industries, because Volkoff (Timothy Dalton) left them all this money.

Zac: Of all the wedding gifts that Chuck and Sarah could get, $877 million…

Josh: It kind of tops all of the other gifts — that and the Viking coffeemaker.

Zac: And how’d that money work out for them?

Josh: Uh, it’s gone. [Laughter] Morgan eats a lot of shrimp.

Zac: Just ungodly amounts of crustaceans. So where does Morgan fit in to this scenario?

Josh: He is now the Intersect — the Carmichael Industries’ secret weapon. But it doesn’t work out so well for Morgan.

Zac: What happens?

Josh: Morgan gets pretty douchey. He goes a little rogue.

Zac: Kind of like the “one true ring” thing?

Josh: That’s the perfect analogy. Boromir sets out for good, to end the war and help humankind in The Lord of the Rings, but it makes him nuts.

Zac: It does eventually give him the superhuman strength to take seven arrows in the chest.

Josh: One of the greatest deaths — it’s so good.

Zac: How does that guy get the greatest death scene ever? Were you excited to get the Intersect in the show’s final season?

Josh: I was swallowed by absolute paranoia and fear.

Zac: That’s just you coming through.

Josh: That’s just about coming to work, ever. Intersect or not. [Laughter] I am literally hanging on to Adam Baldwin’s pant leg like a child.

Zac: Upsies! Upsies!

Josh: Upsies, Daddy! No, but I was excited because as an actor you relish new challenges.

Zac: There are defects with the new Intersect. Coded into it is something that starts to affect Morgan. It transforms him. What was that turn like for you?

Josh: Fun. And to do that while standing next to Carrie-Anne Moss on a helipad in downtown L.A.? Definitely cool.

Zac: I haven’t seen a 180 turn like that since… I don’t know, Urkel becoming cool or whatever. Or was it his cousin Myrtle? It’s that kind of…

Josh: Gravitas. I drew a lot from his commitment, the way he sort of became and lived that.

Zac: Any other fun guest stars coming up this season?

Josh: Rebecca Romijn. She was great. In one scene, she comes through the door to Casey’s apartment and she flashes her CIA badge, the picture that they used — and she didn’t know they were going to do it — was of her as Mystique! We were laughing and she was like…

Zac: Do I have a booger?

Josh: Very funny. And Mark Hamill was such a trip. It’s been really fun [filming] this final season. I can’t believe we’re this far into it already.

Zac: Yeah, we’re halfway done. How does that make you feel?

Josh: I’m so happy to give this farewell to the fans. The con is that we are ending. Everything ends and that’s — ah, see, I knew you were going to try to get me to, uh… [tears up]

Zac: [In a Barbara Walters voice] Josh, this is your Baba Wawa moment.

Josh: Truth is, I just don’t know how I’m going to say goodbye.

Zac: There’s no way we can escape each other. We have each other’s Xbox Live gamer tags. Well, this has been a treat. I’ve always wanted to do this. I have so much love and respect for you, buddy.

Josh: Likewise!

Chuck premiered Friday, October 28 at 8/7c on NBC.

Isn’t it nice to have Chuck back – for one last season??

xoxo,

SAllan

Leave a Reply

