The Dachshund – A Mighty Little Dog!

27 Oct

My family always had dachshunds.

Here are a couple of pictures of my Grandmother TG with her precious baby Rusty:

And when I was young, we had a dachshund named Butch, until he bit one of my best friends and my parents gave him away to a fireman who owned a farm in the country.

I always wondered what REALLY happened to Butch… is the story about the fireman true, or family lore to protect the feelings of little girls?

Anyway, the other day I was walking across East 55th Street, and I passed this shop window:

I walked past, and then stopped and backtracked to it again.

Those are purses with dachshunds on them – cool!

There’s a purse with one dachshund

There’s a purse with two dachshunds

There’s even a purse with three dachshunds!

How cute are these bags?!

Unfortunately, I didn’t have the time to go inside and price the bags; I did look at their website later, but the bags were not mentioned.

Boy are they cute!

Since we’re talking about these personable little hot dogs, here’s some dachshund trivia for you:

Author E. B. White wrote about his dachshund, Fred:

Being the owner of dachshunds, to me a book on dog discipline becomes a volume of inspired humor. Every sentence is a riot. Some day, if I ever get a chance, I shall write a book, or warning, on the character and temperament of the dachshund and why he can’t be trained and shouldn’t be. I would rather train a striped zebra to balance an Indian club than induce a dachshund to heed my slightest command. When I address Fred I never have to raise either my voice or my hopes. He even disobeys me when I instruct him in something he wants to do.”

Other well-known humans and their dachshunds, according to Wikipedia:

John F. Kennedy – Dunker

William Randolf Hearst – Helena

Pablo Picasso – Lump

Jack Ruby – Sheba

Andy Warhol – Archie and Amos

xoxo,

SAllan

10 Responses to “The Dachshund – A Mighty Little Dog!”

  1. margiesmom October 27, 2011 at 9:17 am #

    Dachshunds are wonderful dogs. They have an incredible amount of personality and they are oh-so-soft to the touch. As usual, I love your blog. I look forward to it as it has now become part of my morning routine. Thank you, Sherrie, for doing such a great job!!

    • Ellen Girone October 27, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

      Ditto!

      • sallanscorner October 27, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

        Thank you, thank you, thank you! You liking it makes me want to keep doing it, and even better! Thanks for the support!! 🙂 🙂

    • sallanscorner October 27, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

      Aw, thanks! You made my day! I’ll try to maintain 🙂 🙂

  2. gri5thj October 27, 2011 at 9:41 am #

    Excellent Sherrie! My wife and I have two very precious Dachshunds (Oscar and Phoebe) who are more like our kids than dogs.

    • sallanscorner October 27, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

      I know just what you mean. We’re that way with our cat Sammy. Thanks so much for commenting!!!

  3. Laura Carpenter October 27, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    Did you realize that there were 3 dachshunds at Van Cortlandt House the other day?

    • sallanscorner October 28, 2011 at 8:22 am #

      Laura – I DID! I even had them mentioned in the “Dachshund” blog at first, but then thought perhaps that was making them too “public” so I took the reference out… So glad that we can celebrate your 3 babies here now. You all were certainly on my mind when I wrote the Dachshund tribute! 🙂

  4. thatsecretary October 28, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    LUMP!!!!

    • sallanscorner October 29, 2011 at 8:50 am #

      I KNOW! What a great name! Maybe Sammy should become a Lump…

Leave a Reply

