Time And Again, Into Central Park I Go

24 Oct

One of my favorite books of all times is Time And Again by Jack Finney.

It takes place in New York City, and the main character spends a good deal of time in Central Park. I have read and reread this book so many times, and it is always a fresh and oh-so entertaining and captivating story.

In fact, I just finished it again, and I had such a longing to wander through Central Park that I did just that!

It was a beautiful Autumn day, the leaves are just beginning to turn color.

I entered the park at 72nd Street, across from The Dakota apartment building (another prominent character in the book).

Just inside this entrance is Strawberry Fields – the tribute in the park to John Lennon. Although Yoko Ono contributed the funds for the landscaping and upkeep of this Quiet Zone memorial, many do not know that this black and white mosaic was a gift from the city of Naples, Italy.

I strolled through Poets’ Walk, aka Literary Walk; I wanted to photograph the trees at their peak fall colors. I’ll have to just go again in a couple of weeks. Oh, darn, what torture.  😉

I paused to watch the canoes out on the lake

and I always have to gaze upon Bethesda Fountain. Did you know that the angel statue in the fountain was designed by a woman? Yes, Emma Stebbins was the very first woman commissioned for a major piece of art in New York City. (Never mind that her brother Henry was president of the Central Park Board of Commissioners at the time – sometimes nepotism is a very good thing!)  The statue, Angel Of The Waters, was introduced in 1873 and she is said to be blessing the fountain with healing waters.

The lower Terrace has recently been restored, and is truly lovely.

This area is a favorite among newly-weds and their portrait photographers.

There, the light (and the bride!) is gorgeous.

I was also lucky enough to be there when The Boyds & Praise Company was preforming. Their voices are phenomenal, and the tone that resonates in the lower Terrace makes them sound like angels.

A group of young school girls happened by and those girls were entranced by the singing.

My Autumnal day in Central Park drew to an end.

I want to go back to the park in the winter, in the snow. When it’s quiet, and dark, and you’re not quite sure when you are…

Please read Time And Again and tell me what you think. You can get it from your local library, I’m sure. Stick with it – it’s a bit slow to build – but I’ll bet you’ll find yourself hooked like I am.

xoxo,

SAllan

3 Responses to “Time And Again, Into Central Park I Go”

  1. Hubby October 24, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    I especially liked your lake photo. In keeping with “Time And Again” (great book!), it was easy to imagine that the picture was taken a hundred years ago.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Central Park – At The Peak Of Fall’s Gloriousness « SAllan's Corner - November 10, 2011

    […] visited Central Park a few weeks ago, with the hope of seeing some Fall […]

Leave a Reply

