The TWA Terminal At JFK Airport – Wow!

20 Oct

Thanks to Open House New York, Hubby and I got to view the inside of the absolutely remarkable TWA Terminal at JFK Airport, designed by Eero Saarinen. It opened in 1962, but has not been in use for a while. When American Airlines bought out Trans World Airlines (aka TWA) in 2001, the terminal was closed.

We’ve admired the building from the outside for ages.

But the closest we’ve ever come to seeing the interior is from watching the Steven Spielberg movie “Catch Me If You Can”, which used the terminal as a location in the film.

Open House New York is an annual weekend-long event that opens the doors of many New York City institutions to the public – places that are not normally open to the public. Or, in many public buildings, OHNY offers behind-the-scenes glimpses that the public seldom gets to glimpse.

So, you want to see one of Eero Saarinen’s masterpieces? Okay – here it is (as always, to view a picture larger, click on it, then use your “back” arrow to come back to this home page):

Wow.

OHNY is finished for 2011, but be sure to check it out next year. I filled my weekend with so many activities, I’m still recuperating  😉

All the events I participated in were really great.

But, this one left me tongue-tied and speechless.

xoxo,

SAllan

P.S. A couple of travel tips – a great way to get to JFK Airport from the city is by taking the A, E, J or Z subway to the Airtrain JFK, which then takes you directly to all of the terminals at the airport. Just be prepared for additional swipes of your Metrocard (both in and out of the Airtrain area was a $5 swipe each). Also, if you take the A train, be sure to catch a train that reads “Rockaway” as its destination – as there are 2 different A lines. The “Ozone Park” A train does not have a stop at the Airtrain.

8 Responses to “The TWA Terminal At JFK Airport – Wow!”

  1. Hubby October 20, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    I loved being inside the terminal, but looking at your photos, I’m struck by the “whiteness” of it all. (Except, of course, for the red seating area and tunnel carpets.) It looks like some kind of space-age igloo! Like if “The Jetsons” took place in the South Pole.

  2. cturtle October 20, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    WOW indeed! S, you’re the BEST!

    • sallanscorner October 22, 2011 at 8:37 am #

      Thanks so much, CTurtle – but it’s hard NOT to take a good picture when you’re in a gorgeous place like this! 🙂

  3. margiesmom October 21, 2011 at 9:37 am #

    I didn’t know that movie was filmed in the terminal! That is pretty cool, but what is way cool is the way your photos moved me through the terminal. I don’t understand why they don’t use this terminal. I would love being there, waiting for a flight or coming in from one.

    Well done, Sherrie! Once again, you make me want to be there!!

    • sallanscorner October 22, 2011 at 8:45 am #

      I agree, MargiesMom – I would love travel even more if the destinations were as inspiring as this terminal is. I have heard that it’s too small to accommodate the capacity of people that fill up the larger planes in use today (vs the smaller planes that were flying back in 1956 when the design of the building was begun). Also, I heard that crowd control would be difficult here, but I didn’t hear the reasoning behind that.

      They are trying to revitalize the building in some capacity now – they just don’t know quite what yet. Too small for a hotel (one option I had read about), maybe just a lounge? (I’d CERTAINLY hang out there with a glass of wine during a layover!) Hubby suggested an Apple store – I could see that totally, and I think it’s a genius idea!! 🙂

  4. Marco C November 23, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

    Awesome, I’d love to re-blog this on my blog: Filterfoundry.com/blog if you don’t mind. ~Marco

    • sallanscorner November 23, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

      Marco,I see that you already did copy my post and pictures to your blog. Please add a link back to my blog so I get the credit and perhaps some visitors who like what they see.

      Best,

      Sherrie

Leave a Reply

