Dylan’s Candy Bar – The Largest Candy Store In The Galaxy!

4 Oct

Recently I found myself at 59th Street and Lexington Avenue, here in New York City.

And what delightful vision appeared before me?

Dylan’s Candy Bar, of course!

I’ve certainly visited before… one of my nephews is named Dylan, and when he was small I loved getting him little tins of candy with his name all over them.

Dylan’s Candy Bar is considered the largest candy store in the world – it has 3 floors of candy, candy candy!

BUT, I’ve never visited before in October – the month of my favorite holiday – Halloween!!

The store is currently chock full of spooky, Halloween-themed candy.

Like candy corn lollypops

and mummy head cookies

and chocolate pumpkin heads

BUT, even better than all this (can you get better??) are the REALLY spooky…

candy FINGERS

GUMMY EYES

and spooky spider WEBS

What a Halloween party you could throw with these goodies!!

BUT – almost EVEN better than all that – are the unusual items they carry – like…

Pet candy

Astronaut candy

International candy

OH MY GOSH!

They have a chocolate dipping station

where you can chose between a goodies like a pretzel, a strawberry, a marshmallow – then you put it on a stick and dip it into the waterfall of chocolate!

Can anything get better than THAT??

Well, maybe…

just maybe…

The Retro Candy Wall!!!

The vintage TV plays vintage candy commercials

And, who remembers Candy Cigarettes?!

No kidding, this place is beyond cool.

Er, it ought to be! Dylan’s Candy Bar is the brainchild of Dylan Lauren, Ralph Lauren’s daughter. According to Wikipedia: “it was inspired by seeing “Willy Wonka & The Chocolate Factory ” on her sixth birthday. She describes it as the most “memorable birthday party I ever had. I must have been in kindergarten, and I had all my friends over. Somehow my parents got a print, set up a movie screen in our house, and did a little show there. It was like going to Disneyland.”

From Wikipedia, here is a photograph of Dylan Lauren:

And, inside Dylan’s Candy Bar, you can see her likeness – in jelly beans, of course!

It IS a Willy Wonka-like magical place! The kids adore this store. And the kid in you will adore it, too.

If you’re in NYC, be sure to pop in and give it a visit. You can also order some of that cool Halloween stuff from their website, including Gummy Teeth, Zombie Blood and Brain Freeze Floating Brain Ice Molds.

Gummy Teeth, Zombie Blood and Brain Freeze Floating Brain Ice Molds??

I didn’t see those when I was in the store…

I’m gonna have to go back!

xoxo,

SAllan

4 Responses to “Dylan’s Candy Bar – The Largest Candy Store In The Galaxy!”

  1. Johnny D October 4, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    My candy-eating days are well behind me, but that looks like an amazing store. The vintage candy section reminded me of when I used to go to a little delicatessen right next to my grade school. The couple who ran it lived in an apartment right above the store and, knowing the preferences of their young customers, they stocked a lot of candy. I used to like these big wax tubes of sweet colored liquid. After you drank the liquid you could also chew on the wax for a while.

  2. Ellen Girone October 4, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    I loved candy cigarettes when I was a kid! I would love to watch the retro candy commercials – choo choo charlie, choo choo charlie…..hahaha

    • sallanscorner October 5, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

      I loved them too! Trying to be like my folks, I guess…

Leave a Reply

