Chile Pepper Fiesta 2011 – This Saturday 10/1 At The Brooklyn Botanical Gardens!

29 Sep

If you like it Hot, you have to go to The Brooklyn Botanical Gardens this coming Saturday, 10/1/11!

It’s their annual Chile Pepper Fiesta day – Whoo Hoo!!!

I have been meaning to get to the Botanical Gardens, and somehow the summer has slipped by. Now I know – I was waiting for this Saturday.

I haven’t been there since Dale Chihuly, the wonderful glass artist, had his exhibit out at the Gardens.

The Brooklyn Botanical Gardens was founded in 1910 – and I LOVE this cast iron and glass greenhouse.

If you know me, you know that I love greenhouses – I was practically born in, and was definitely raised in greenhouses. My Dad was a horticulturist and had 11 or so greenhouses all while I was growing up.

Here are my Grandparents one holiday season, in  one of the greenhouses filled with poinsettias:

Also, if you know me, you know that I like it Hot!

Here is my 2011 chile pepper harvest, from my fire-escape-potted plant:

Impressive, I know!

My point is, I CANNOT WAIT until Saturday!!

See below for just a tiny sampling of what will be going on. And check out their website for the entire listings.

See you there! It’s supposed to be glorious Fall weather – a perfect day to spend at the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens – sampling spicy treats, listening to live music, and visiting the Chile Chocolate Wonderland!

xoxo,

SAllan

*************************

Purchase Tickets

Advance tickets to Chile Pepper Fiesta can be purchased online. Ticket holders will have expedited entry into the Garden.

BUY YOUR TICKETS NOW

Festival Admission Fees

All events will be held rain or shine.

Adults $15
Seniors (65 and over) $10
Students 12+ with valid ID $10
Children under 12 Free
BBG Members Free

Saturday, October 1 | 11 a.m.–6 p.m.

 Fire breathing. Scorching hot sauce. Chocolate debauchery.

New York’s hottest fall tradition, featuring eight bands from chile-loving regions around the world. Sample goodies from today’s hottest chocolatiers and cast your vote at the Chile-Chocolate Takedown. Pick a pepper at our local farm stand and delight in sizzling salsas, pickles, kimchee, and other red-hot specialties. Don’t miss your chance to savor the fiery flavor…Brooklyn style.

11:00–11:30 Mariachi Tapatio De Alvaro Paulino
Brooklyn’s own mariachi mavens play the Plaza
11:30–Noon Mariachi March
Join the procession to the Main Stage musical kickoff
11:00–5:00 Nice ‘N’ Spicy
Meet award winning chefs and sample their savories

  • Bhut Pepper
  • Brooklyn Salsa Company
  • Grace Foods
  • Green Salsa Company
  • Guyank Hot Pepper Sauce
  • High River Sauces
  • Horman’s Best Pickles
  • Karma Sauce
  • La Boîte Biscuits & Spices
  • Lost Bayou Ramblers Golden Pepper Sauce
  • Mama O’s Kimchee
  • My Friend’s Mustard
  • Nuts + Nuts
  • People’s Pops
  • Sol Sauce
  • Sour Puss Pickles
  • Tickle Sauce
One Response to “Chile Pepper Fiesta 2011 – This Saturday 10/1 At The Brooklyn Botanical Gardens!”

  1. Johnny D September 30, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    This sounds like it is right up your proverbial alley!

Leave a Reply

