Watch The Food Network’s “Halloween Wars” – Each Sunday Of October 2011 @ 9:00PM Eastern

28 Sep

From this website, we get the skinny:

The new series “Halloween Wars” challenges five teams of cake

decorators, candy makers and pumpkin carvers to come up with the

scariest horror tales all made from edible treats.

The teams will have to create creepy witches, haunted houses, twisted fairy tales, epic battles

between zombies and vampires, and Halloween displays from the underworld to win the $50,000 prize.

Justin Willman (“Cupcake Wars”) will be the host with renowned cake decorator Shinmin Li and

Hollywood conceptual artist Miles Teves on the judging panel; celebrity guest judges include

Rob Zombie, Jaime King, Scout Taylor-Compton and R.L. Stine.”

Why do we care?

First of all – it will get us in the mood for Halloween – one of my favorite holidays.

I loved to go Trick-or-Treating when I was a kid. Here are my sister and I at our Grandparent’s door in 1976:

I loved seeing my nephews on Halloween. Here’s P in 1997:

And here’s D in 1997:

Here’s one of my very favorite costumes of all time:

I LOVED this costume! No one ever knew who I was, and I would be giggling nonstop behind that mask!

But, we’re not going to be watching “Halloween Wars” for the costumes.

We’re going to watching because – and rooting for – Karen Portaleo, who is one of the contestants.

I worked with Karen for quite a few years, when I was in Atlanta. We were in the advertising scene together on many, many shoots.

She’s a VERY talented and kind, special person. Here she is, dressing a model for a shoot.

Years ago, Karen sculpted clay figurines before moving on to tea pots, and other items.

These days she has found fame and fortune by decorating cakes.

Karen is the Sugar Artist at Atlanta’s Highland Bakery. They have 3 locations in the Atlanta area; Karen works out of this one:

Old Fourth Ward
655 Highland Avenue, #10
Atlanta, Georgia 30312
404-586-0772 tel / 404-586-0774 fax

That is, when she’s not competing on Food Network programs!

I saw her recently on one show where she made this Standard Poodle cake

and she and her assistant Joshua won that competition!

Yes, that’s a cake – covered with cotton candy “hair”. AMAZING.

I got these two photos from Karen’s blog, which you MUST check out. And, while you’re at it, check out her website.

And next time you are in the Highland area in Atlanta, be sure to go to The Highland Bakery – tell Karen that SAllan sent you.

She won’t know who you’re talking about, but I’d LOVE it if all of my Atlanta friends would do this.

What a hoot!

Be sure to tune into The Food Network channel, at 9:00 PM every Sunday night this October – starting this Sunday – to cheer on Karen and her team.

Do you have your Halloween costume ready? The countdown is on!

xoxo,

SAllan

5 Responses to “Watch The Food Network’s “Halloween Wars” – Each Sunday Of October 2011 @ 9:00PM Eastern”

  1. Johnny D September 28, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    Those pictures of you in your Halloween outfit are amazing!

  2. Joyce Lish October 23, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

    I just wanted to tell the judges they are so full of it!!!! regarding the win Karen Portaleo was so WRONG!!!! It was not even scary, I’ve seen people on the streets that were scarier. I think the Boo’s should have won by a land slide. Just the thought of Satan waiting to pull you into hell is the scariest thing anyone could think of. The details were so much better, Don’t get me wrong Karen is an excellent carver, it just wasn’t that scary, if anything it was funny looking not scary at all. Wrong Wrong Wrong just Wrong. I feel they played favorites through the whole show. I wanted to give my opinion. Thank you in this matter. Joyce

    • sallanscorner October 24, 2011 at 10:06 am #

      Hi Joyce – you’re killing me! I haven’t watched the final episode of Halloween Wars yet – I Tivoed it last night and will watch it soon.

      I guess the element of surprise is gone from me now. 😉

      Thanks though for your comment; I know that both teams are really winners – I have been visiting Ray Villafane’s Facebook page – he is one talented guy. I’m sure that he’ll sell a ton of his carving dvds.

      xoxo,

      Sherrie

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. October – The Month Of Goblins And Ghouls And Scary Fabulous Things! « SAllan's Corner - October 1, 2011

    […] posted recently about how much I love […]

Leave a Reply

