Strut Your Mutt NYC – A Great Turnout For a Great Cause!

25 Sep

It’s been a busy weekend, what with the London Terrace Street Fair, The Broadway Flea Market and the Strut Your Mutt Walk. But, The Strut Your Mutt event had me grinning ear to ear, so I’ll tell you today about this.

Dogs and their people gathered this morning at Pier 84, at 44th Street and 12th Avenue by the Hudson River. The walk was to start at 9:00 AM, and afterwards back at the pier, a costume contest and lots of doggy-related vendors.

I was so happy to see my friend D and her baby Rambo there. I hung with them as they registered for the Strut.

There were so many cute dogs, my ears hurt from my grinning so much!

The dogs and their people waited patiently for the Strut to begin.

They were going to walk from 44th Street, along the Hudson River to 23rd Street, then back again.

While the tune “Who Let The Dogs Out” by The Baha Men played over speakers throughout the pier,

the ribbon was cut to great fanfare…

and the Strut began!

I think every dog in the city was there!

This guy was a real athlete, looking forward to the action:

while this guy seemed like he would rather take it a little more easily…

The pier cleared out as the Mutts Strutted away.

I browsed through, watching the vendors set up.

They were preparing to have Dog & People yoga

There was a Doggie Spa

A tent for belly rubs – dogs only, please!

There were Dog Trainers and Vets there, to answer questions

As well as many tents for vendors of Fresh, Homemade Dog Food.

A couple of the brochures that I picked up were from “Freshpet” and “Evermore“. (Not that I can personally endorse these products as we haven’t tried these specific brands, but our cat Sammy has had such a good turnaround since he started eating fresh, homemade food – I suggest you look into some different, healthful food options for your pet.)

At least one vendor was set up to give out free lunches to the pooches, after their return from the Strut.

One of my favorite vendors was selling “Couch Petatoes” – personalized pet pillows.

Here’s their website, if you are interested in learning more.

I think Sammy’s face on a pillow would be wonderful! Maybe this picture, where he looks so utterly charming and friendly?

Er, he looks kind of *evil* here, like he’s plotting something sinister… get more food… bigger bowls… more often… NOW…

Well, the Strut Your Mutt Event here in New York City today had a really wonderful turnout. I think that a lot of money was raised, all for a really great cause – No More Homeless Pets.

Thanks to all of the beautiful Dogs and their people who attended, contributed and participated, to try to help end the insane overabundance of Homeless Pets.

I know that they’re kind of two separate issues, but I wanted to close with this thought, from a Facebook friend:

xoxo,

SAllan

 

Leave a Reply

