“Asaf and Yo’ah” At The Time Warner Center – By Artist Boaz Vaadia

22 Sep

I have loved this sculpture outside of the Time Warner Center for years. It’s right in front of the building called One Central Park.

There’s no sign nearby, telling about the sculpture, or the artist – which seemed odd. The other day I stopped in and asked the doorman about the art.

He told me that it’s by a Brooklyn-based artist named Boaz Vaadia, and he kindly gave me the name of the artist’s website.

The doorman said that there used to be an identifying plaque at the sculpture, but someone stole it.

Yeesh!

I love “Asaf and Yo’ah”. They are so comfortable in their spot. So casually just hangin’.

I love the beautiful stone work, and the colors of each slab.

Mr. Vaadia’s work is also installed in several other locations throughout New York City. I can’t wait to visit these other pieces!

And, according to this page on his website, he has permanent or long-term installations in many other U.S. cities including Philadelphia PA, Summit NJ, West Nyack NY, Nashville TN, Boca Raton FL, Reno NV, Miami FL, Chicago IL and Roslyn VA.

Have you seen any of Boaz Vaadia’s statues in your town?

I’d love to see pictures!

I think the setting at the Time Warner Center is absolutely perfect for “Asaf and Yo’ah”.

Very nice job, people. This makes me smile every time I walk by. The architecture, the landscaping, the color, the art – it’s such a peaceful and pretty setting, I want to hang with these guys.

xoxo,

SAllan

P.S. The artist Boaz Vaadia responded:

Thank you for blogging about my sculpture. I’m glad I’ll be able to keep you updated about what’s going on in my studio, and don’t hesitate to be in touch if you have any questions about my work.

Also, I thought you might enjoy seeing a short video about some of my process:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sm2ndpGrGSg

Best,
Boaz

6 Responses to ““Asaf and Yo’ah” At The Time Warner Center – By Artist Boaz Vaadia”

  1. Johnny D September 22, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    I hope you sent a link for this blog to the artist. Your picture is better than the one on his website.

  2. Tattoo Lettering September 25, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    Hi! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone 4! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the outstanding work!

    • sallanscorner September 26, 2011 at 10:41 am #

      Wow, thanks a lot! I appreciate your checking out my blog!

  3. sallanscorner September 26, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    Thanks so much for checking in!

  4. sallanscorner September 26, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    Thank for stopping by!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Albuquerque Landscapers - September 23, 2011

    Cheers…

    Really good site, thank you so much for your time in writing the posts….

Leave a Reply

