The Coming Of Hurricane Irene

26 Aug

Flashlight – check

Batteries – check

Bottled water – check

Canned foods – check

Can opener – check

Dry cat food – check

Yesterday and today, I’m all about preparedness. Hurricane Irene is a-comin’.

Luckily, no one was killed or injured when she stormed through The Bahamas. Crossing fingers for the U.S. of A.

She’s one big storm.

She weakened slightly over night, but I really hope that all the media coverage is hitting home to the folks in her path; I say: “Prepare for the worst and hope for the best.”

I hear that they are already evacuating hospitals and nursing homes in Coney Island and other beach-front towns.

Coney Island – Hang in there!!!

And they are trying to batten down the hatches at Ground Zero; there are a half-dozen cranes there working on-site which are not built to withstand winds over (I think I heard) 60 mph.

Freedom Tower – Hang in there!!

Eastern Seaboard – Hang in there!!

This morning I opened up my Go-bag – which I put together soon after 9-11. It was like opening a time capsule.

A disposable film camera – before I went digital.

A pair of Walkie Talkies – I had a cell phone.

A Todd Rundgren baseball cap.

A bottle of water with an expiration date of 2003.

3 granola bars hard as rocks.

People – update your Go-bag once a year. Don’t do as I did, checking it every decade!

xoxo,

SAllan

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “The Coming Of Hurricane Irene”

  1. thatsecretary August 26, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    Your preparedness is inspirational!
    I’m going to stock up on supplies for Dark N’ Stormys… and canned food, I guess.

  2. Susan August 26, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    I hope it spins east and doesn’t hit the city, but do be careful. Irene seems mighty annoying. Stay safe!!

Leave a Reply

