New York Aquarium’s Newest – The 18 Pound Lobster

24 Aug

Did you read the story about the 18-lb. lobster that was caught off the coast of Canada recently?

He was so big, he was labeled by the fishing industry “NCV” – “no commercial value”.

He was just too big for the cook pot!

So, the New York Aquarium at Coney Island gave him a new home.

I wanted to go take a gander.

Here are a couple of pictures of him:

His right claw is bigger than a baseball mitt!

They judge him to be 75 years old. Good for that old lobster!

Here’s some lobster trivia for you:

The Guinness World Records marks the largest recorded lobster at 44 pounds and 6 ounces with more than 180 years under its belt. That lobster was caught in 1977 off the coast of Nova Scotia.

Wow.

Well, the entire time that I was at the aquarium, I was completely enthralled!

No, not by all of the screaming and pushing children, but by the quiet, serene aqua creatures.

Like the sea otter:

 and the sting ray:

and the sharks

Look at the teeth on this guy!

The sea turtle also came in for his close-up:

But, what I loved the very most, were the jellies.

Jelly fish are my favorites!

It was very fun watching (and photographing) the people watching the jellies.

 and

Of course, the most photogenic of all creatures – I’ll let them speak for themselves. Please do yourself a favor and click on the photo to enlarge it. Just click your “back” arrow to come back to see the next one.

I could have spent just hours and hours with the jelly fish.

I could have lived through an earthquake and not even known it – that’s how enthralled I was by the jellies!

The New York Aquarium is awesome! I was sad that the walrus and the sea lion exhibits were closed the day I went.

But I’ll be back! (After school begins again.)

If you buy your tickets on line at the Aquarium site, you’ll save a couple of clams per ticket – pun intended!

xoxo,

SAllan

6 Responses to “New York Aquarium’s Newest – The 18 Pound Lobster”

  1. thatsecretary August 24, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

    Wow! Love these pictures, I have to get to the Aquarium one of these days. I am so glad that Lobster’s life was spared…

    • SAllan August 24, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

      You’ll LOVE the aquarium! The lobster looked happy…

  2. Ellen Girone August 24, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    Awesome pictures! I love aqariums! I went to the Maritime Aquarium in Norwalk, CT last year and it was just amazing. On a much smaller scale we have a 55 gallon fish tank here. You have to come up and see our fishy friends! I’ll send you a picture of them.

    xo,
    Ellen

    PS. I’m glad the lobster has a loving home now 🙂

    • SAllan August 24, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

      I can’t wait to visit and see your tank! 55 gallon is pretty big, isn’t it? Please send pics!

  3. Johnny D August 24, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    Long live the lobster!

    • SAllan August 24, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

      Sadly, I may have a hard time eating lobster again…

Leave a Reply

