The Pioneer Woman Debuts Her Cooking Show This Weekend!

23 Aug

I’m excited! I have to admit, I am one of Ree Drummond’s millions of blog readers. I met her when she was in NYC at a publishing event, and she was just as nice and down-to-earth as she comes across on her site.

She had brought her daughters with her on this trip to the city, and I gave her a little collection of printouts of NYC-girly-fun things to do. She was very sweet and grateful. She even sent me an email when she got back home. Aw…

My mom likes The Pioneer Woman, too. We’re both looking forward to seeing her first show, which debuts on The Food Network this Saturday morning, 8/27 at 11:30 Eastern time. Here’s some info.

I think I’ll like it, because the series was taped on her husband’s cattle ranch in Oklahoma – so, not only do we get Ree’s hearty, homestyle cooking (country-fried steak, mashed potatoes and gravy – YUM) but we also get cows, horses, dogs, kids and cowboys – YAY!

Plus, she’s a self-taught photographer. She takes pics as she’s cooking, and she posts them – every step as she goes – along with her recipes, on her website and in her cookbook “The Pioneer Woman Woman Cooks”. Along with her pictures of cows, horses, dogs, kids and cowboys.

Here’s a cute 2 minute video introduction to The Pioneer Woman, thanks to YouTube:

Watch out, Ree – you’ll be next on Anthony Bourdain’s HATE list, what with you using all that butter  : )  He seems to despise The Food Network, and all of their “Celebrity Chefs”…

Well, I actually embrace some of them!

When ever I have the opportunity, I get them to sign a little plate, as wall decoration in our tiny kitchen.

I have Ree’s

I have Mark Bittman

I have Sara Moulton (as close as I ever got to Julia Child)

I have Alton Brown

And yes, I even have Anthony Bourdain

and his plate actually is the best of all!

Wouldn’t he be chagrined to see whose company he keeps on my kitchen wall!

At least, I don’t have Paula Deen up there with him  : )  He’d probably come over and smash my plates.

Anyway, if you like down-home cooking, cows, horses, dogs, kids and cowboys, check out The Pioneer Woman this Saturday. My Tivo is set and waiting!

And, pull a few sticks of butter out of the fridge; you might be needing them soon!

Here’s The Pioneer Woman’s chocolate cake recipe that she talks about in the video:

Ingredients

  • FOR THE CAKE:
  • 2 cups Flour
  • 2 cups Sugar
  • ¼ teaspoons Salt
  • 4 Tablespoons (heaping) Cocoa
  • 2 sticks Butter
  • 1 cup Boiling Water
  • ½ cups Buttermilk
  • 2 whole Beaten Eggs
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla
  • _____
  • FOR FROSTING:
  • ½ cups Finely Chopped Pecans
  • 1-¾ stick Butter
  • 4 Tablespoons (heaping) Cocoa
  • 6 Tablespoons Milk
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla
  • 1 pound (minus 1/2 Cup) Powdered Sugar

Preparation Instructions

Note: I use an 18×13 sheet cake pan.

In a mixing bowl, combine flour, sugar, and salt.

In a saucepan, melt butter. Add cocoa. Stir together.
Add boiling water, allow mixture to boil for 30 seconds, then turn off heat. Pour over flour mixture, and stir lightly to cool.

In a measuring cup, pour the buttermilk and add beaten eggs, baking soda, and vanilla. Stir buttermilk mixture into butter/chocolate mixture. Pour into sheet cake pan and bake at 350-degrees for 20 minutes.

While cake is baking, make the icing. Chop pecans finely. Melt butter in a saucepan. Add cocoa, stir to combine, then turn off heat. Add the milk, vanilla, and powdered sugar. Stir together. Add the pecans, stir together, and pour over warm cake.

Cut into squares, eat, and totally wig out over the fact that you’ve just made the best chocolate sheet cake. Ever.

I actually have not made this cake yet (Hubby’s not a big chocolate fanboy), but I’ll bet anything that it’s just as decadent as Ree says. Try it and let me know, okay?

xoxo,

SAllan

 

2 Responses to “The Pioneer Woman Debuts Her Cooking Show This Weekend!”

  1. margiesmom August 23, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    Thanks, Sherrie! I’ve never even heard of The Pioneer Woman, but you can bet I am going to check out her show. I love cooking shows!!

    I love your signed plates, too. What a great idea.

    I am looking forward to your next blog 🙂

    • sallanscorner August 24, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

      Let me know how you like the show – and be sure to check out her blog!
      Thanks so much for enjoying mine xoxo

Leave a Reply

