Civil War Weekend On Governor’s Island

14 Aug

Yesterday I was transported in time.

I went to Governor’s Island for this:

Yes, a car show of nothing but Bugs!

I couldn’t wait!

But, when I arrived on the island, the first thing I saw was this:

I was immediately transported back to 1863!

Here’s what the Island’s website has to say about the Civil War Weekend:

The National Park Service hosts Civil War Weekend this Saturday and Sunday, August 13-14. This year’s weekend has even more importance as it is the 150th anniversary of the beginning of the Civil War.

Living historians will re-enact a day in the life of soldiers garrisoned on the Island in August 1863 during the conflict. There are a wide range of activities planned over the two days. Visit the Soldiers Camp and speak to soldiers about what it was like to be a part of their unit during the war, witness confederate prisoners being marched to Fort Jay under guard, bring your kids to special kids activities and dress in costume and learn about the men and women of the Civil War period, listen to lectures by rangers and historians and take in a “base ball” game of living historians and NPS rangers! 

Activities run from 10:30 AM to 5 PM on Saturday and 10:30 AM to 4:00 PM on Sunday. So come out and celebrate the Island’s rich history with the National Park Service!

I wish that I had been more aware of this, so I could have given you a heads-up.

But, I CAN show you some of what I saw.

I’ll post about the Car Show on another day.

The reenactments, the costumes, the “props”, the intensity of the area was amazing!

A photographer had his massive 8×10 camera set up, taking portraits of the officers:

I stole a portrait of my own!

There was a washerwoman, scrubbing the soldiers’ dirty clothes and telling us how she was hired by the army to travel with them to wash the clothes. One of the few respectable jobs that a woman could have at the time of the war.

The soldiers fired a cannon several times.

And we watched the regiment march, taking their orders from their captain.

During some down time, the men played checkers.

We heard the marching band play, and they discussed the patriotic music of the era.

And the children loved this woman who played the dulcimer and the guitar, and sang.

As a transplanted Southerner, I did not see the Confederate prisoners, and for that I was glad.

I  suppose that this is an annual event. Next year I will be happy to go back and learn more. It was really intense.

Hard to believe that when you turned around, you didn’t see Civil War battlefields, but this instead:

xoxo,

SAllan

Leave a Reply

