The Gardener’s Progress

13 Aug

The fruits of my labor are in!

Earlier this year, I decided to plant a  jalapeño plant.

Here was my baby on May 11th:

Wasn’t it cute??!!

It grew to be a little mother plant by July 3rd – see the little teeny  jalapeños:

Well, after you all have been waiting on pins and needles – I’m here to tell you – (drum roll please) – The Gardener’s Progress…

HARVEST DAY HAS COME!

Yes, after 3 months of fine summer weather, particular attentiveness, careful monitoring, organic mindfulness (I could go on but I won’t) – I now am the very proud recipient of two very special  jalapeños.

It is a Gardening Success Story!

Now, what to do with these Two Fine  Jalapeños?

I currently happen to have these happy companions in-house:

Shall I make salsa?

Hubby’s not a tomato fanboy – that’s okay – more for me!  🙂

Here’s a great recipe, thanks to The Pioneer Woman:

Restaurant Style Salsa

Ingredients

  • 1 can (28 Ounce) Whole Tomatoes With Juice
  • 2 cans (10 Ounce) Rotel (diced Tomatoes And Green Chilies)
  • ¼ cups Chopped Onion
  • 1 clove Garlic, Minced
  • 1 whole Jalapeno, Quartered And Sliced Thin
  • ¼ teaspoons Sugar
  • ¼ teaspoons Salt
  • ¼ teaspoons Ground Cumin
  • ½ cups Cilantro (more To Taste!)
  • ½ whole Lime Juice

Preparation Instructions

Note: this is a very large batch. Recommend using a 12-cup food processor, or you can process the ingredients in batches and then mix everything together in a large mixing bowl.

Combine whole tomatoes, Rotel, onion, jalapeno, garlic, sugar, salt, cumin, lime juice, and cilantro in a blender or food processor. Pulse until you get the salsa to the consistency you’d like—I do about 10 to 15 pulses. Test seasonings with a tortilla chip and adjust as needed.

Refrigerate salsa for at least an hour. Serve with tortilla chips or cheese nachos.

 

The Pioneer Woman’s recipe only calls for 1 jalapeño, but I certainly won’t mind that there are 2.

(I wonder how spicy they are going to be!)

What would you do with 2 very special jalapeños? I’d love to hear your suggestions.

God Bless Jalapeño Farmers. I think next year I will be relying on them for the jalapeños for my salsa.

Shhh…don’t tell my plant.

xoxo,

SAllan

3 Responses to “The Gardener’s Progress”

  1. PEPPERMEISTER! August 13, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    great looking jalapenos! Last year I had a 12 inch jalapeno plant deliver 1 beautiful pod. It was the pride of my garden. This year, I decided to research and fertilize and I’m happy to say I will have dozens of jalapenos from my one biker billy jalapeno plant. Also try Serranos in your salsa, very fresh tasting and just a bit hotter than jalapenos.

    • sallanscorner August 14, 2011 at 8:52 am #

      Peppermeister – thank you for your tips. Fertilizer. Good thing. And, I’ll look out for some Serranos – I like the heat!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hot Sauces, Mexican Hat Dance, Molten Spiced Chocolate Cake, Oh My! « SAllan's Corner - October 10, 2011

    […] that pepper plants (the star of the day!) actually produce more than one or two peppers a season! […]

Leave a Reply

