American Folk Art Museum – Free In NYC!

12 Aug

American Folk Art.

I love it. It can be almost anything – that’s what’s so beautiful about it.

I have this signed print by Howard Finster:

I got it in 1995 when Mr. Finster himself was at a showing in his hometown of Summerville, Georgia.

Here he is signing at his table:

Wouldn’t it be nice if his art became as valuable as Grandma Moses??

I recently read that “A 1942 piece by Grandma Moses, “The Old Checkered House, 1862” was appraised at the Memphis 2004 Antiques Roadshow. The painting was a summer scene, not as common as her winter landscapes. Originally purchased in the 1940s for under $10, the piece was assigned an insurance value of $60,000.00

You gotta love American Folk Art!

Recently I paid a visit to The American Folk Art Museum here in NYC, at Columbus & 66th Street.

It’s just about right across the street from Lincoln Center.

It’s a FREE museum, and well worth a visit. Their gift shop alone is like a museum!

I absolutely LOVED this papier-mâché piece:

and this all-too-true wooden sign:

At the time of my visit, the museum’s display was Quilts.

They were amazing!

The colors, and the tiny detail. I can barely sew on a button!

I really love the colors in this one:

Orange is such a happy color!

They also had a series of quilts which are a 9-11 tribute.

Here’s some detail of one section:

Just amazing. Left me speechless…

If you visit, and then want a recommendation of a nearby restaurant, I LOVE Rosa Mexicano, which is at Columbus & 62nd Street.

It’s a *slightly* more upscale Mexican eatery (in other words, NOT Tex-Mex) – on a nice day, sit outside and share the large guacamole, made table side, served in a molcajete and enough for 2-3.

YUM!

A perfect outing.

xoxo,

SAllan

3 Responses to “American Folk Art Museum – Free In NYC!”

  1. Johnny D August 12, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    That orange quilt looks great!

  2. Ellen Girone August 13, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    I love American Folk Art! I was sold as a youngster after seeing Ma and Pa Kettle! I didn’t even know that museum existed. I collect American Art Pottery called Roseville. It originated in Ohio and their factories closed in 1954. I have several old pieces, about 30 or so. You’ll have to come to White Plains and see them! Its really beautiful stuff.

    xo,
    Ellen

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The American Folk Art Museum « SAllan's Corner - September 30, 2011

    […] on people – we need to support this museum! I’ve written about it before, but it’s time to champion this place […]

Leave a Reply

