Volkswagen Day On Governor’s Island – This Saturday 8/13/11. Woot!

11 Aug

I’ve always been a Volkswagen aficionado.

Now that I live in New York City, I don’t drive on a regular basis – but when I lived in Atlanta I was a VW Queen.

This was my first car – my 1966 VW Beetle:

and my 2nd car – my 1973 Super Beetle, which I still have at my parent’s home in Hot ‘Lanta:

During my first (brief) marriage, we were a 2-VW family:

Fast-forward to this coming weekend.

If you are also a Volkswagen appreciator, and you’re in the area, you MUST check out the 2nd Annual NYC “Volkswagen Traffic Jam” at Governor’s Island on Saturday, 8/13.

I have not been to this event before – I just learned about it a few months ago – so I am excited about experiencing it! Saturday promises to be a lovely day in the NYC area, and I always love going to Governor’s Island.

As I’ve marveled before, the ferry from Manhattan is FREE. You can get the directions here.

Don’t tell Hubby, but I just might have to get him one of these GROOVY tee shirts!

There are also other events taking place on Governor’s Island this weekend – like the “Civil War Weekend this Saturday and Sunday, August 13-14. This year’s weekend has even more importance as it is the 150th anniversary of the beginning of the Civil War.”

Also, “you can come out on August 14th for a yoga program featuring Sri Dharma Mittra. The free classes, lectures, meditation and activities will also take place on Colonels Row between 10 AM and 4 PM.”

Again, check out the websites linked above for all of the details.

I’ll see you out on Governor’s Island this weekend!

xoxo,

SAllan

 

Leave a Reply

