Apple Takes Big Apple

9 Aug

I’ve been a big fan of Apple Computers for a long, long time.

I loved the iconic advertising campaign “Think Different” that began back in the late 70’s.

Do you remember when its logo was this:

And don’t you remember seeing this ad in your old Rolling Stone magazines?

I purchased one of these from a coworker back around 1992:

and I’ve been a loyal and devoted Mac user ever since.

I’ve said or thought more times that I can recall, “I wish I had bought Apple stock way back when”.

When will I learn that it’s never too late?

Today might be a good day, since yesterday’s plunge in the market.

Not that I know what I’m talking about.

Not that I’ll take any action.

BUT – Apple is about to take The Big Apple by storm.

They have rented some massive, prime space in Grand Central Terminal.

It will, by accounts I’ve read, become the largest Apple Retail Store in the world.

Apple will pay the MTA $800,000 per year to rent the new location for ten years. Thereafter, the rent will increase to $1 million annually. Once completed, the Grand Central Store will replace London’s Covent Garden as the world’s largest Apple Retail Store.”

The completed store, which would encompass two adjacent balconies, is said to be a massive 23,000 square-foot location, roughly 3,000 square feet larger than the company’s existing flagships.”

Apple paid the current tenant (Metrazur Restaurant) $5 million to move out of the terminal’s east balcony eight years early. (Thanks to Metrazur’s website for this image of their old space.)

The new Apple store plans to open towards the end of this year, just in time for the holidays.

Speaking of New York City Apple stores, what’s up with the 5th Avenue location?

It used to look like this:

but the other day when I wandered by, it looked like this:

Are they doing some sort of secret construction there?

This website says:

In a stunning development, an expensive construction project has begun at the 5th Avenue (NYC) Apple store to completely remove the unique and iconic glass cube entrance to the store and to then reinstall it. Permits issued by the city’s Department of Buildings confirm the company will spend $6,661,050 to completely remove the glass and its sophisticated connection hardware, make upgrades to the surrounding plaza structure, and then “reinstall” the cube.”

Wow.

Looks like Apple has money to spend.

After all, didn’t you see the news reports circulating the other day that Apple has more money than Uncle Sam?

I REALLY wish I had bought Apple stock way back when.

xoxo,

SAllan

 

 

4 Responses to “Apple Takes Big Apple”

  1. MushiMushi December 9, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    Looks like Apple has OUR money to spend.

    • sallanscorner December 9, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

      Yes – I read today a news report that said fourth-quarter iPhone sales are expected to top 30 million!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oyster Bar At Grand Central Station « SAllan's Corner - August 10, 2011

    […] also wanted to see what the progress was on the future Apple Store site. This is all that’s there right […]

  2. Steve Jobs – One Less Genius In Our World Today « SAllan's Corner - October 6, 2011

    […] month or two ago I wrote about my love of all things […]

Leave a Reply

