2nd Avenue Sinatra

8 Aug

Have you heard about the “2nd Avenue Sinatra”?

How about the “Crooning Construction Worker”?

He’s certainly getting his “15 Minutes Of Fame” – and likely, even more than that!

His name is Gary Russo. He’s a worker on MTA’s 2nd Avenue subway construction – a project that has been and will be annoying the neighborhood shop keepers and residents due to the noise, dust, and other inconveniences during the multi-year project.

Except at lunch time.

That’s when Gary sets up his karaoke machine and sings for an ever-growing crowd of passers-by, tourists and media.

I had to check it out!

Indeed, when I got there (2nd Avenue and 73rd Street) around noon, Mr. Russo was singing and a small crown had gathered.

A 2-person crew was taping his perormance.

And I enjoyed several Sinatra tunes.

The crowd loved it!

And, then he started singing Neil Diamond’s “Song Sung Blue”.

I haven’t liked Neil Diamond much – ever since the very well-intentioned mom of a friend of mine bought me a Neil Diamond record for my 12th birthday, instead of the Neil Young record that I had put on my wish list.

It was a sad state of affairs.

I loved seeing (and hearing) Gary Russo singing during his lunch break on 2nd Avenue. He says that he’s trying to give bad a little – trying to make up a little for the noise and disruption that the subway construction is contributing to the neighborhood.

I hope that his “15 Minutes Of Fame” take him where ever he wishes to go. He put a big smile on all of our faces. I love the way he’s following his heart. Did his construction working buddies give him a hard time at first?

Now, he’s become a beloved lunchtime New York City destination.

I’ve had “Song Sung Blue” stuck firmly in my head for days now.

xoxo,

SAllan

 

4 Responses to “2nd Avenue Sinatra”

  1. Johnny D August 8, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    Maybe you should have requested a Neil Young song. 😉

  2. SAllan August 9, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    I wonder if he knows “Harvest Moon”? One of my favorite Neil Young songs!

    • Ellen Girone August 9, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

      That is soooooo great! I love The Summer Wind as well as Harvest Moon! See you tomorrow!!!!

      Ellen

      • sallanscorner August 9, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

        Can’t wait to see you, Ellen – big hug!

Leave a Reply

