Review Of Movie Night On The Intrepid: William Shatner’s “The Captains”

31 Jul

First of all, it was a lovely evening for an outdoor screening.

When I arrived at 6:30, there was already a bit of a line.

They started letting folks on board at 7:30, but the wait was pleasant, as the sun was setting and the breeze off the Hudson River was cool.

The golden sunset glow on The Intrepid was lovely.

Once on the flight deck,

I set up my little stool and picnic basket, and waited with the Trekkies for the show to begin.

There were an estimated 1500 of us there, but the flight deck on The Intrepid is so huge, I didn’t feel like it was overly crowded.

We watched previews

and the Shatner Palooza kicked off

when Mr. Shatner himself appeared above us in a spotlight to introduce the movie.

The crowd went wild!

And the movie began.

I enjoyed it – I can’t say that I am the world’s biggest Star Trek fan, but the crowd around me also seemed very appreciative.

I was most appreciative when Scott Bakula was on screen.

The entire experience was great! The crowd, the (few) costumes, The Intrepid, the movie, the weather – I would do it again in a heartbeat!

The city behind as the backdrop when we were leaving was spectacular!

Thank you, Captain Kirk! And, all of The Captains.

Next Friday night, 8/5, The Intrepid is screening “ET” for free.

Color me there!

xoxo,

SAllan

 

 

4 Responses to “Review Of Movie Night On The Intrepid: William Shatner’s “The Captains””

  1. David K July 31, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    Thanks for the review. I chose not to go because I thought it would be too mobbed with people. I’m grateful for your pictures and narrative; they made me feel as if I had in fact attended.

    • sallanscorner August 1, 2011 at 11:06 am #

      Thanks David! I was very surprised that it didn’t seem so mobbed to me. It was such a nice experience, I look forward to going now to see other movies on the Intrepid.

  2. atreegrowsinbklyn July 31, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    Nice post and I like the painterly photos

Leave a Reply

