Converse Shoes, James Dean, And Other NYC Sights

20 Jul

I’ve always had a thing for Converse.

Here am I in awesome black & white houndstooth:

and here am I in resplendent orange:

The other day, I was in Soho, and found myself outside of the Converse store on Broadway.

I never knew that there was a Converse store on Broadway.

“Self”, I said. “We must enter!”

There was this AWESOME American flag made up of – you guessed it – a million Converse shoes:

They had these darling little key rings – only $8.00 each. I almost bought 2 for Froggy, but I think his feet are *a little* too big to fit.

(I did not take the above photo – thanks to Google Images for it. I was too flabbergasted to shoot the tiny shoes. But I’ll be back. Oh yes, I’ll be back!)

Wouldn’t Froggy look CUTE in hightops???!!!

I’m going to have to take him with me next time I go, to see if the shoes will fit him. He’s excited already!

Back to the brick-and-mortar; any store that can honestly show that James Dean was a fan – has my vote.

Speaking of Dean, there on the same block is a Dean & Deluca. I wanted to go in and get an iced coffee. It was a scorcher out on the streets!

But that store was mobbed, so I headed over to Prince Street to stock up on some Nespresso pods.

Now, this is a sexy-looking store, isn’t it?

They had a nifty tribute of their own there, designed from their coffee pod boxes:

Time to head home. Walking back to the apartment from the subway, I passed this – helpful perhaps to tourists and locals alike!

There’s always something fun to see in New York City!

xoxo,

SAllan

 

 

3 Responses to “Converse Shoes, James Dean, And Other NYC Sights”

  1. Johnny D July 20, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    That mirror in your first picture is a bit distorted. It almost makes it look like you’re wearing Converse platform sneakers.

    • sallanscorner July 20, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

      I know – I like those Converse platform sneaks!
      What, no comment about Froggy in high tops??

  2. Johnny D July 20, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

    Froggy’s got very wide feet–like EEEE or something. No shoes can contain him! (Actually, he’s wearing shoes already.)

    BTW, here’s a link to a famous photo of James Dean in NYC–Times Square, to be precise.

    http://www.athousandandone.com/35/

Leave a Reply

