In Memoriam: “Men Of A Certain Age” And “Harry Potter”

17 Jul

There can’t possibly be a wider void between the two.

“Men Of A Certain Age” – utter reality, 50-year old men, casual every-day events.

“Harry Potter” – fantasy, children growing up, unworldly outrageous events.

Yet, I loved them both. This weekend, those two worlds collided – both coming to an end.

“Men Of A Certain Age” – not totally unexpected, hoped and wished it would continue, shocked and sad it’s over.

“Harry Potter” – expected, dreaded, knew it was coming, sad it’s over.

I was quite depressed yesterday morning at the news that TNT has canceled “Men Of A Certain Age”.

Here’s what TNT said about the abrupt cancelation:

TNT has been proud to be a part of “Men of a Certain Age” for two seasons. While the show has featured great storytelling and impeccable performances, the audience simply hasn’t built to the point where we can continue the series. This was an extremely difficult decision for us.”

Whaaa!

And, I saw the last installment of the Harry Potter franchise, “Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows part 2” on Friday. I loved the movie. I was sad through the entire screening that my Harry Potter World was all about to end.

I’m like that. At the very beginning of a vacation, I start to dread its inevitable end.

But, I guess… life goes on…

Have you heard about “The Potter Puppet Pals“? I didn’t know of them until I saw Alan Rickman receive his award. He was voted by over 7.5 million MTV fans as being the favorite Harry Potter character of all time.

“Snape, Snape, Severus Snape!”

And, here’s the quick, catchy tune by The Potter Puppets that is referenced at the end of the interview above:

I was in the subway in Times Square the other day, and it was covered in these wonderful posters. I want them all.

If I can’t have them all, I’d be happy with just the one of Snape…

xoxo,

SAllan

One Response to “In Memoriam: “Men Of A Certain Age” And “Harry Potter””

  1. Justin July 17, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    Hello SAllan.. my name is Justin and I am an owner of an iPhone app development company. We are interested in placing one of your images in our game. I couldn’t find any contact information for you, so I figured this would be the best way to get a hold of you. Your blog is very cool, and your images are great! Please contact me so we can talk about the copyright info to one of your city street images.

    Thank You,
    Justin

Leave a Reply

