Pier 84 – My Favorite Little Spot In Manhattan

7 Jul

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again; there is NOTHING like hanging out at Pier 84 on the west side of Manhattan.

Hubby and I are lucky to live just a couple of blocks away. No matter how often I go, I am always surprised at how much I love it there.

If you have kids (or not!), be sure to check it out!

There is a fountain that kids absolutely love to run through.

It splashes high and it splashes low. It splashes soft and it splashes furious.

Is this kid having fun, or what?

Even this little one couldn’t wait to get some of the action.

The pier offers free fishing – they supply the rods and reels, and they will even bait your hook for you with their supply.

The kids were really enjoying this!

You can rent bikes on the pier – and enjoy the wonderful bike path heading either north or south along the Hudson River.

You can get snacks on the run,

you can relax in at the restaurant area,

or, if you are kid-less, why not settle in at the bar area?

And, what’s a pier without boats?

This is one spot where you can catch the Water Taxi

or the Circle Line

or, if you’re lucky – you can see a big cruise ship depart from its nearby pier. I was lucky enough the other day to be there when the Queen Mary 2 departed and headed out to the open ocean:

Ah, Pier 84, Pier 84. Where a cool breeze blows on even the warmest day.

xoxo,

SAllan

One Response to “Pier 84 – My Favorite Little Spot In Manhattan”

  1. Johnny D July 7, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    Your last picture was my favorite. I liked the juxtaposition of the kid on the bike in the foreground and the big ship in the background. Nice!

Leave a Reply

