Tonight, Do You Want To… Oh I Don’t Know… Swim Around The Statue Of Liberty?!

24 Jun

This morning I went to the Heath Club for my morning swim and said “hi” to the friendly lady lifeguard. I LOVE my pool.

She said that she was hoping for sunshine today, as later on she is SWIMMING AROUND THE STATUE OF LIBERTY.

Yes, this one:

Did you hear that? She is swimming around THIS!

I was impressed, and needed to know more.

She is a member of NYCSwim. And about 250 of them are swimming this afternoon about 5:30 – around Lady Liberty.

Wow. Just Wow.

Here’s where I found out more information about these awesome swimmers and this event.

Some info from their website:

“First there was the Manhattan Island Swim, then came the Governors Island Swim. Now you can be a part of NYC Swim Events’ newest circumnavigation at the third annual Liberty Island Swim — a 1.2-kilometer counterclockwise swim around Liberty Island, the home of the Statue of Liberty. It’s a great way to kick off a summer weekend!” 

I love this bit of detail that the website gives about swimming in the area:

“There can be a substantial amount of chop in the water from wind & tide action. The waterways are salt-water and there is shipping traffic. There may be random jetsam & flotsam in the waterways.”

Jetsam?

Flotsam?

I think I’ll just watch. And partake in the post-swim BBQ on the island. Next time.

Hubby and I have plans for this evening.

If you are interested in participating, sorry. You can’t just go down there and jump in and start swimming. You have to qualify for, and register in advance, so it’s too late for tonight. It’s also too late to register for the post-swim BBQ.

But, keep this in mind for next time.

Here’s info about the post-swim BBQ from the NYCSwim website:

Liberty Island Post Event BBQ

“The setting: New York Harbor’s most iconic landmark at twilight. The company: NYC Swimmers and guests, and Lady Liberty. The menu: classic summertime barbecue fare, including burgers (regular and veggie), hot dogs, grilled chicken. Stick around after the swim for this fun, social barbecue open to exclusively to NYC Swim event participants and attendees. (All attendees must have access to the island as swimmers or registered guests and purchase tickets in advance.) If you’d prefer to bring your own picnic, that’s fine too, no tickets needed. Beer and wine will be sold separately; BYOB is not allowed.”

What a blast! How much more uniquely New York City could you get? Next year, I want to witness this!

Here’s a commercial for the swim club from last year:

I am so impressed. I can’t wait to ask the lifeguard next week about her experience!

xoxo,

SAllan

3 Responses to “Tonight, Do You Want To… Oh I Don’t Know… Swim Around The Statue Of Liberty?!”

  1. UGHYES June 24, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    Damn! This scares me! I want to do it, but in a wetsuit. Gross/awesome.

    • sallanscorner June 25, 2011 at 9:06 am #

      I love your “Gross/Awesome” description – so spot on!
      Definitely something I really want to witness, and really do not wish to participate in…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tonight, Do You Want To… Oh I Don’t Know… Swim Around The Statue Of Liberty?! | PUNS NEWS - June 26, 2011

    […] Outdoors Tagged: Health Club, NYCSwim, Statue Of Liberty, Swimmers, Things to do in NYC SAllan’s Corner google.friendconnect.container.setParentUrl('/' /* location of rpc_relay.html and […]

Leave a Reply

