Greenies?? And, P.S. – Dr. Ward’s Reply

18 Jun

Pet Lovers, Unite!

Come Together, and tell me all you know about Greenies. The Pill Pockets, specifically.

They seem to be a wonder product, to Hubby and me.

If you know us, you know Sammy.

Sammy our Wonder Cat.

I have blogged about his “digestive problems” – much to your delight, I am sure 🙂

And, the time that he got sick and had to go to the hospital

and how he takes his medicine daily in the pill pockets – does even know he’s being administered to – he thinks it’s Treat Time!

and how we discovered the NYC holistic pet store Whiskers

and how their homemade food has turned Sammy into a (not so) lean, mean fighting machine!

How we weigh him daily – and now he almost needs to do on a diet!

And, how we LOVE the Greenies Pill Pockets.

Until yesterday, when Gal Pal Ellen sent this link where people are posting their complaints about the Greenies products. According to these comments, the dog treats, pet pill pockets, and other products made by Greenies are making their pets VERY ill, and people are claiming that the products should be recalled and taken off the market.

After a bit more research, I found this article where Dr. Ernie Ward speaks highly of the products. I just emailed the doctor asking him for the low-down on the cat pill pockets specifically. I realize that he is a spokesperson FOR Greenies. I am eagerly awaiting his reply.

So, faithful readers and pet lovers – do any of you have experience with Greenies Pill Pockets? Should we continue using them on our beloved Sammy?

Please share your experiences or knowledge…

We’re in a “need-to-know” situation here.

xoxo,

SAllan

P.S. Dr. Ward replied:

I recommend Greenies Pill Pockets and have not had any problems in my patients. I have found it makes administering medications less stressful, especially in my older and severely debilitated patients. I have no hesitation using them in me veterinary practice. The vast majority of veterinarians use and recommend them.

 I hope that helps and wish you good luck treating your cat.

 Dr. Ernie

11 Responses to “Greenies?? And, P.S. – Dr. Ward’s Reply”

  1. Susan June 18, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    Hey hey – there was a *huge* to-do several years ago about Greenies (the chewable bone-shaped ones) causing blockages. I gave Sailor one once, which he seemed to inhale and I watched nervously for a couple of days. Fortunately there were no ill effects, but I made a mental note never to give another one based on his tendency to chomp it into big bits and swallow them down. They were supposedly reformulated in order to make them break down faster in the digestive system so as to not cause blockages, and the uproar seemed to die down. Here is what snopes.com had to say about the regular Greenies:
    http://www.snopes.com/critters/crusader/greenies.asp

    Having said all this, I know nothing about the Pill Pockets. I just googled them, and other than the consumeraffairs page you saw, I found very little commentary about them. One thing I noticed about that particular link is that no one has posted in over eight months, and only one seems to reference the Pill Pockets. Have you talked to you vet? I’d also find out who the local respected feline internists are and put a call into their offices and see if you can get responses. If Sammy’s been taking the Pill Pockets successfully for a while, he’s probably ok. Oh, and I love the picture of John and Sammy.

    • sallanscorner June 19, 2011 at 10:35 am #

      Thanks for the info! The Dr. emailed me back; I’m about to add his reply as a post script…

  2. Ron September 29, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    My much beloved, but sick, cat loves em – really don’t know what I’d do without them as she hates taking pills (and with cats all my life, I’ve had a lot of practice perfecting how to pop pills down a cat’s throat – but this girl cat is the smartest cat I’ve ever known and can see a pill coming a mile away and is a champ at pretending she’s swallowed and then spitting them out when you walk away). I’ve tried soft cheese (a favorite of hers) but usually too messy (although works well if all else fails). I’ve tried other “soft” treats to hide pills inside, but found they aren’t as good as the Greenies because they aren’t as malleable.

    That said, even the “feline” pill pockets they are way too big for most cats – they gag on them – the ideal way of administering pills is to have them simply swallow them without chewing (as many pills are not very tasty and your cat can froth at the mouth trying to get the bad taste out).

    To get around the problem, I cut all but the smallest pills into halves or quarters and then lightly wrap them with the greenies pill pockets. I do that by squishing them between my fingers and flattening them and then placing the pill in the middle and molding the treat thinly around the pill (so one “pill pocket” greenie will be divided into two to four pieces).

    And now, instead of “pill time” being stressful, my cat begs for them. I only wish somebody had told me about them years ago – every vet should give a sample pack of greenies when cats have to take pills – and they’ll be customers for life…

    • sallanscorner September 30, 2011 at 6:45 am #

      Wow, thanks so much for the great information. Best wishes to you and your kitty!

    • Linda February 23, 2013 at 4:06 pm #

      I started using Pill Pockets on 2 of my 3 Yorkies for daily meds, within 6 months I have had both dogs using the Greenies to the Vet with diaherria ( leaking control) and throwing up, once my Vet thought one dog was in Kidney failure. All three Yorkies eat the same thing the only exception was the third on did not get the Greenies because she did not need to take any meds. I just had my little 4 pound yorkie in last week with diaherria having blood in it, after $150.00 more I finally started writing everything my dogs put in their mouth, discovering that the problem had to be the Greeinies. I have stopped using them and they seem to be better, but still not sure about my Little Molly. I think Greenies should be taken off the market or a warning should be put on the label. I have sent a complaint to Comusmer Affairs as alot of other people have. I believe the problem coulc be the corn, animals can’t seem to handle corn products.

  3. Diana Knight January 8, 2012 at 8:34 am #

    I bought Greenies Pill Pockets Allergy Formula made with duck on January 7, 2012, gave one to each of my three dogs, and all three of my dogs have been throwing up. I have one dog I have to give medicine to twice a day, so I bought Greenies Pill Pockets to make it easier to administer. First, when I opened the package it smelled really bad. However, I thought they made them that way on purpose, and that maybe dogs like them that way. I gave one to my dog with her medicine, and, just so they wouldn’t get jealous, I gave an empty pill pocket to my other two dogs as a treat. In the middle of the night, all three dogs were vomiting! I know it’s the duck pill pockets because the only thing I did differently from the day before was give them pill pockets, and my other two dogs (you can call them the “controls subjects” if this was a scientific experiment) didn’t receive any medicine. I didn’t change their diet or get my carpets cleaned or anything else differently. What is strange is that there was a lot of undigested food in their vomit, and they got sick over eight hours after having their dinner. You would think that they would have digested their food by that time. So, I don’t know if the pill pockets contained bad duck or if they are just hard to digest. I plan on returning the partially used pill pocket package to Pet Supermarket today. I plan on informing them of my three dogs getting sick after receiving Greenies Pill Pockets. My hope is that someone tests the item to see what is causing pets to get sick.

    • sallanscorner January 8, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

      Wow – SO SORRY to hear this. I’ve never tried the duck flavor, we give our cat the chicken flavored pill pockets. Good luck! Best to your babies, please write in a follow-up and let us know they’re okay…

      Sherrie

  4. maggie February 8, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

    I have been using Duck Pill Pockets for my cat’s daily Blood pressure medication. I bought a new packet – gave her one and she wouldn’t have anything to do with it. Prior to this she would love to eat them. I noticed they were not only a different color BUT THEY SMELLED LIKE POISON! Lot number on the package is –
    202A1kAN v1 14:00. Best By date 01/07/13 29 1
    I am contacting the company today.

    Please make sure you don’t get a tainted bag. This is scary because if you already have a cat that frail this could be fatal.

    • sallanscorner February 8, 2012 at 7:14 pm #

      Best of luck with your cat! Thanks for your report – please let us know how your kitty does!

  5. Kelly July 14, 2013 at 2:36 pm #

    Bought the chicken pill pockets at my vets office mainly for my senior Maltese who has bouts of pancreatitis and takes meds. Vet tech claimed there was less fat than cheese or peanut butter so I got a bag. When I opened the bag first I noticed how large the pill pockets were and my small dogs would choke on theses things. I also read the contents and they have 13% fat – small dogs with pancreatitis should have treats with less than 10%. I was annoyed but thought I would break up 1 and split it between the two of them and just use as a treat. On two occasions my other dog who does not have stomach issues throws up within 5 minutes of eating the pill pockets. They may be safe some some pets but I think there is something in Greenies products that many pets cannot tolerate. Dumping my bag in the trash!

  6. Jane February 1, 2016 at 8:01 am #

    I have bought the chicken pill pockets for dogs and most of them in the bag have been rubber. You could not mould them and was not happy giving them to my dog.
    There is a recipe for PB ones on the Internet for dog owners, sorry cat owners. I haven’t found anything.

Leave a Reply

