The Veuve Clicquot Polo Classic On Governors Island

7 Jun

Hubby and I decided to go play Goofy Golf.

The line for the ferry to Governors Island was long

but it moved pretty fast.

Still, we wondered – are all these people going to play Goofy Golf?

They don’t *really* look like they are dressed for Goofy Golf…

They look like they are dressed for The Royal Wedding.

Or…

Polo!

Yes, it was the very day of the annual Veuve Clicquot Polo match on Governors Island.

I remember reading about it last year – it made the papers particularly because Prince Harry participated in the game.

(Thanks to this website for the photo of Harry playing last year.)

After our rousing game of Goofy Golf, I told Hubby, “I’d like to run through to see the horses.”

Hubby said, “I’ll wait for you over here.”

So, I dashed through the crowd to see what I could see.

First, I saw these cute kids, munching apples and eagerly awaiting the horses:

And then I saw this crowd:

It was a sea of beautiful people.

Men in seersucker suits

and hatted ladies

and smiles with flutes of champagne

Suits, gowns, hats and sunglasses

I love the guy in the upper right with the green sunglasses! Can you see him there? (You might have to click on the picture to enlarge it.)

It was a very well-heeled group.

The only beverages available were champagne, soda and water.

I read later that the line for the champagne was on average an hour-long wait.

Here’s the menu (AND the prices!)

The game hadn’t started yet, but I went back to Hubby, and we left the island. We had used up all of our energies on Goofy Golf.

And People Watching.

We pondered, were these folks wearing Outfits, or Costumes?

I’ll leave you with Polo Postcards – thanks to our friends at eBay:

Because, I know that you wanted to see the horses as much as I did!

xoxo,

SAllan

P.S. The event was for charity – to help Haiti – so we heartily applaud that. Next year, I might go without Hubby and actually watch the game (match?)…

Because – the most important fact of all that I neglected to mention – the event is FREE, the ferry ride is FREE! The money is made by the selling and buying of the champagne, and costly, fancy table reservations.

So, next year – get dressed up (or not), travel for FREE and buy a flute of champagne (or a bottle or two, if you’re so inclined, and rich!) and watch the Sport Of Kings for FREE!

3 Responses to “The Veuve Clicquot Polo Classic On Governors Island”

  1. Johnny D June 7, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    I wonder how they got the horses onto Governor’s Island.

    • sallanscorner June 8, 2011 at 9:59 am #

      That’s a very good question – do they take the ferry? Do they swim? Do they get flown in? More importantly – how do we find out the answer??

    • sallanscorner July 2, 2011 at 1:15 pm #

      When I went out to the island again for the Jazz-Age Lawn Party, I asked – they ferry the horses across early in the morning before the ferry opens for regular passengers. I was told that the drive the trailers onto the ferry.
      Whew – finally that burning question is out of my head now!

Leave a Reply

