The Men Are Back, Baby!

1 Jun

I was all set with a NYC post for today, but then I turned my calendar to June – and guess what?

TNT’s “Men Of A Certain Age” airs tonight, after a season break since January.

Yes, I marked the return date on my calendar. June 1, 2011.

Because I’m a dork.

But, mainly because the show is that darned GOOD.

It stars Ray Romano

Scott Bakula

and Andre Braugher

who are all terrific actors.

The show also features some great women actors, including Lisa Gay Hamilton

and Melinda McGraw

The acting on this show is superb, as is the writing. It’s a story of 3 middle-aged men, living their “normal” lives, friends throughout, and there for each other through their ups and downs.

Scott Bakula, interviewed for TVLine, says:

“It’s bigger, faster, funnier… and dramatic-er. Really, the next six [episodes] are like a bizarre roller coaster. Really big things happen to all three of the guys. A lot of them are positive, but some of them also kick below the waist. That’s how it is, though — you get lifted up and then you get dropped, and then you get lifted up.”

TVLine writes:

Prospective new viewers should be advised that Wednesday’s midseason premiere offers a “really good place to join in,” Bakula promises. “When they realized that it was going to be a [summer season] starter, they rewrote in a way that reintroduces the show.”

So, be sure to tune in tonight on TNT, at 10:00 PM Eastern time.

The Men Are Back!

Tune in tomorrow, this Blog-time, this Blog-channel, for another thrilling NYC story!

xoxo,

SAllan

P.S. The TVLine article also throws out this major tease for us Chuck fans:

The one lady Bakula perhaps most hopes to share scenes on TV with next is Terminator toughie Linda Hamilton, who plays his (shall we say estranged?) wife on NBC’s Chuck.

“Oh my gosh, I’d love to — that’d be a blast!” he says of possibly working with Hamilton, who joined the spy comedy just as Bakula’s Stephen J. Bartowski was (seemingly?) killed off. “Somebody told me that in [last month’s season] finale they intimate that I’m going to be back. But… we don’t know anything!”

Be still, my beating heart!

4 Responses to “The Men Are Back, Baby!”

  1. Johnny D June 2, 2011 at 11:59 am #

    I really enjoy “Men Of A Certain Age”. I liked “Everybody Loves Raymond” but I’m very pleasantly surprised at the depth of Ray Romano’s acting in “Men”. And I love the choice of the Beach Boys’ “When I Grow Up (To Be A Man)” for the show’s theme song. Bravo!

    • sallanscorner June 3, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

      Yes, from the opening song to the end credits, this show is a delight!

  2. doose June 3, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    Someone help me! How can a great T.V. show, a current Peabody Award winner, Men Of A Certain Age, be looking for viewers? If you do not love it, you have not seen it. MOOSE

    • sallanscorner June 3, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

      I agree 100%! I think people are catching on – the reviews are all glowing!

Leave a Reply

