Oprah’s Last Show

30 May

Did you watch?

Oprah Winfrey’s last show, after 25 years, aired last week. I Tivoed it, and watched later that day.

I used to watch Oprah years ago, when the show was young, when I worked later in the day. I really loved the show, and got a lot out of it – but then lost track a bit over the years.

I was very moved by her last show. Inspired.

Sammy The Cat and I watched it together.

I loved that it was just Oprah and her audience – no big-name guests, no giant giveaways, no sobbing dramatics.

Just Oprah and a good bit of her wisdom.

She encouraged us to have Passion, a Calling. Sure, we need to make a living, but we each have a Calling – a Reason for Being.

What Sparks a Light in us.

We deserve to be Happy, and we are Worthy.

She wants us all to stay in touch. She provided her personal email address.

She teared up a little towards the end

and said “Until we meet again”, and departed the stage

Waved her final goodbye

and then backstage, hugged members of her crew – and finally, her dog Sadie.

What did you think of the last show? Was it Inspirational to you, or merely Preachy?

Does Oprah Touch you, or Bug you?

I think, either way – her message is great.

We are all Worthy.

We all have something that we’re Good at – Right For.

I’d love to hear your thoughts.

And, what will Oprah be doing next? Have you watched her new network? Will she go into politics?

Here are some of her very Inspirational quotes from the last show:

“Don’t wait for someone else to complete you. ‘Jerry Maguire’ was just a movie.”

“Your life is speaking to you. What does it say?”

“Every day that I stood here I knew that this was exactly where I was meant to be.”

“This is what I was called to do…Everybody has a calling, and your real job in life is to find it.”

“There’s a difference between thinking you deserve to be happy and knowing that you are worthy of being happy. Your being alive makes worthiness your birthright. You alone are enough.”

“You also have to know what sparks the light in you so that you in your own way can illuminate the world. You have the power to change somebody’s life.”

“Nobody but you is responsible for your life. You are responsible for your life. What is your life? What is all life? What is every flower, every rock, every tree? Energy. And you’re responsible for the energy you create for yourself, and you’re responsible for the energy that you bring to others.”

“Well, I say, all sweet, no bitter. And here’s why. Many of us have been together for 25 years. We have hooted and hollered together, had our a-ha moments, we ugly-cried together and we did our gratitude journals. So I thank you all for your support and your trust in me. I thank you for sharing this yellow brick road of blessings. …I thank you for being as much of a sweet inspiration for me as I’ve tried to be for you. I won’t say goodbye. I’ll just say, until we meet again. To God be the glory.”

xoxo,

SAllan

2 Responses to “Oprah’s Last Show”

  1. doose May 31, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    Oprah is inspiring, everything you always heard about her. I still have to go with Ellen. Moose

    • sallanscorner May 31, 2011 at 10:27 am #

      HI Moose – thanks for your comment – I couldn’t agree with you more!

Leave a Reply

