Touring The USS Iwo Jima During Fleet Week In NYC

27 May

Go and go early. This is an opportunity that you don’t want to miss!

Be sure to check the schedule of events, there is a lot to do, and touring the amphibious assault ship USS Iwo Jima for free was right at the top of my list.

Here, from Wikipedia, are a couple of photos of the ship; the first, out at sea in the fog

and the second, coming into New York City via the Hudson River for a past Fleet Week

It is docked now through Tuesday, 5/31/11 at Pier 88 next to The Intrepid, on the Hudson River. The tour of Iwo is free, but it does get crowded and the wait can get rather long (I waited for 2 hours, starting at 10:00 – we heard there were Senior Dignitaries on board, so we were delayed) – but it was well worth it!

Here are some photos that I took during my tour. It was hard to believe it was real, and not a movie set!

This was an AWESOME tour! The crew were all very proud, polite and eager to answer questions.

By the way, in case you didn’t know or forgot, The Battle of Iwo Jima was in WWII – this image of the commemorative stamp (again, thank you Wikipedia) will remind you:

Take advantage of the wonderful opportunities here in New York City this Fleet Week, and shake hands with some of of these men and women for their service.

xoxo,

SAllan

4 Responses to “Touring The USS Iwo Jima During Fleet Week In NYC”

  1. Johnny D May 28, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    I liked your pictures a lot!

    • sallanscorner May 29, 2011 at 8:12 am #

      Thanks so much! That makes me happy.

      I almost thought I was on a movie set!

  2. Theresa Schack May 31, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    I was on the USS Iwo Jima on Memorial Day. My granddaughter is a Marine and came in with the ship. She was one of the ones giving the tour. It was awesome. It made me real proud to be aboard that ship and to thank these men and women for their service. God bless them all!

    • sallanscorner May 31, 2011 at 10:25 am #

      Hi Theresa – thank you for your comment. My tour was wonderful, and I felt so proud of and in awe of the young men and women on board the Iwo Jima. Your granddaughter must be such a real joy to you and your family – please give her my sincere thanks for her service, and I hope that she gets back home safely and soon. I was so heartened when I spoke with the crew – they are all so proud of their work – rightly so!
      Sherrie

Leave a Reply

