9th Avenue Food Festival In Vibrant HDR

16 May

Did you go to the 9th Avenue Food Festival this past weekend? I looked for you, but it did get rather crowded, despite the threat of rain.

I didn’t see you – are you there somewhere?

I walked through several times each day, and Hubby walked through with me once both days. Which may be a record for him.

He doesn’t love the crowds.

Me, I love the people watching.

And the dog watching.

And especially the food tasting!

Here are some samplings of what could be had.

Grilled corn – with your choice of topping – I got mine with jalapeño butter.

YUM.

I’ve never tried the zeppole, but a group of people next to me at one point was sharing a bag, and I think I drooled on their feet a little bit – next time, I am so there.

The Fried Oreos do not speak to me – has anyone tried them? If so, tell me – did you love them?

I love the Mozzarepas – little grilled sandwiches of corn cakes with melty mozzarella inside…

I’d twirl my mustache here, if I had one!

Lots of grilled meat to be had – chicken, pork, beef:

and Pierogis

Fried Onions

Funnel Cakes and Fried Twinkies

Cotton Candy

Glow-In-The-Dark Lime drinks

Or, if you’d rather – Sangria under a tent

There were attractions for the kids

Street Performers

And, of course, Sexy Soul Oldies, who always draws a crowd as he plays his Soul compilations and dances his heart out

So, who all was there? Please tell us about your experience in the comments section.

See you next year, 9th Avenue Food Festival!

xoxo,

SAllan

4 Responses to “9th Avenue Food Festival In Vibrant HDR”

  1. Johnny D May 16, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    Look at all that corn!

    • sallanscorner May 18, 2011 at 10:06 am #

      Sammy would have been in heaven, wouldn’t he??

  2. Ellen Girone May 21, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    Hi Sherrie,

    Back in the mid-80’s I worked as a Broadcast Engineer for WNYC which at the time was owned by NYC. We also provided audio services to City Hall meetings and did all of the NYC special events. The 9th Avenue Food Festival was one of those events. I had my own stage where I had 3 mics, amp, mixer and did the sound. At the time there were 3 or 4 stages. I never got to enjoy the festivities, food, etc. Next year I want to come down and finally enjoy it!!

    Ellen

    • sallanscorner May 21, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

      Wow – John and I were wondering what it was like in the “early days” – thanks for the report! It’s amazing how much it’s grown!

      Will love to walk through it with you next year!

Leave a comment