Atlanta’s GREAT Band “The Producers”

13 May

They should have made it BIG. But sadly, like so many other great bands, they never quite did.

I’m talking about The Producers. Out of Atlanta circa 1981 or so.

I was a big fan – saw dozens of shows (and before them, the Great band Whiteface, but that’s a blog for another day…)

My roommate also dated one of their roadies for a while, and during that time we went on a long weekend road trip to Florida to see several shows.

I hadn’t thought of this for quite a while. A little while back, I checked out one of my favorite music blogs, and lo and behold, that day’s entry was about The Producers.

It got me thinking about the band, the guys, and this road trip.

So I pulled out my notebook of negatives, and did a bit of scanning.

I could show more, but let’s start with these pics.

Here’s Wayne Famous, the keyboard player:

And here are Kyle Henderson and Van Temple – bass and guitar:

Wayne and Kyle:

Bryan Holmes, the drummer:

and Kyle again:

One lovely afternoon on this road trip in Florida, we hung out at the motel pool with some of the guys, who were as nice and down-to-earth as could be.

But, Trouble In Paradise:

Car Trouble.

Enough to make the band’s manager want to pull his hair out!

But nothing that these guys couldn’t handle!

All too soon, we were back in Atlanta, where the guys rocked out a stellar show at The Agora Ballroom.

It’s too bad that these guys didn’t hit the Big Time, the way they deserved. They were the darlings of MTV in the early, early days.

Here’s a video – I think maybe their first.

Wow, this brings back so many great memories – I hope these guys know how many people they made – and continue to make – happy.

xoxo,

SAllan

17 Responses to “Atlanta’s GREAT Band “The Producers””

  1. Johnny D May 13, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    Good photos! My favorite is the one of the guy looking down from the balcony. I like the angles, although it does remind me of the night I stayed at a motel just outside Austin, Texas. I was hanging out poolside, but these guys were having some kind of party and after a while they started getting a bit rowdy and throwing people into the pool from the balcony, so at that point I beat a hasty retreat back to my room!

    • sallanscorner May 14, 2011 at 8:40 am #

      Thanks – that’s Kyle on the balcony – I also have a similar shot when Van joined him up there. Luckily, no rowdiness ensued… 🙂

  2. Tim May 31, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    Great memories. Saw these guys 10 or so times. I actually went to what they billed as their last show at Congress street Station in Savannah where Wayne asked me to buy cocktails for the group…which i happily did. It was the least I could do after all of those years and great times listening to their music. So Damn Close!!!!! Love them!

    • sallanscorner June 1, 2011 at 9:42 am #

      Hi Tim – I’ll bet we were at some of the same shows together!
      Thanks for sharing your memory – great story.
      It is such a shame – how close they came…

      • Marc June 23, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

        Thanks for the excellent and rarified snaps! Very Nice!
        I was lucky to see the lads in South Florida many times early on! they were one of the first bands that made Me wanna be in a band too! Such hi-energy fun! I took so many people to see them and they were ALL instant Fans for life!

      • sallanscorner June 23, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

        Thanks Marc, for visiting and for your comment. Isn’t it great fun to turn other people on to a band like this??!!

      • Marc June 23, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

        Memory Lane has an Excellent Soundtrack!

      • sallanscorner June 23, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

        Very Well Said!

  3. michele June 23, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    Marc turned me onto The Producers back in the day and I, in turn, just gave them over to my 19 year old son. I think I was at the show in South Florida when Marc said he saw them play – so fun; so energetic (who do you think you are?); so clever ( i love lucy, but she don’t care!) and gorgeous vocals. i think Operation is my favorite…maybe She Sheila…or You Make the Heat..

    • sallanscorner June 24, 2011 at 10:41 am #

      Hi Michele – thanks for sharing your memories. You make me want to pull out my Producers LPs and get the turntable cranked up – those are all GREAT tunes! I love that your 19-year old son is now a fan!
      I’m going to have to scan and post some more photos of the guys – stay posted!

  4. Nigel Clarke October 24, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    I caught the band opening up for Toto in Raleigh, N.C. The only tune that I had heard before was “She Sheila”. Well, The Producers simply walked out, took over the stage, and won over everyone in the audience. As expected, Toto was excellent, but I think believe that The Producers were the best band on stage that night. I had “You make the Heat, but I went out the next day to buy their first album and could not find one in the entire city. A magical evening for sure. About a year or so ago, I happily discovered that the first two albums had been put on CD and that “Coelacanth” had finally been released. While I always felt badly that they did not get their due, they still produced four awesome albums on major record labels and made a bunch of fans very happy. Best of all, they still get together and play now and then….so old and new fans alike may still get a chance to hear them live again!!!

    • sallanscorner October 24, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

      Nigel, thanks so much for writing about your experience. I saw them on that Toto tour, as well. Have you had the pleasure of seeing them recently?

      Very best,

      Sherrie
      aka SAllan

      • Nigel Clarke October 25, 2011 at 7:11 am #

        Hi Sallie – No, I’ve not seen them recently. Have you seen them play lately? If so, I envy you! I understand that they still play together sometimes. I would gladly travel some distance to see them, but by the time I hear about it, they have already played the venue. Wayne has had some health issues, but is doing much better, so maybe we will get another chance. I’d also like to see Van’s “Reason Y” and Kyle’s BES perform.
        Kind Regards,
        Nigel

      • sallanscorner October 25, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

        NO, I’ve not seen the recently either, Nigel. I sure would love to! And, the other bands, as well… Maybe one day!

  5. Nigel Clarke March 13, 2012 at 10:09 am #

    Hi Sally,
    I got a chance to see The Producers play again in Augusta, Ga. last Saturday night. They played Friday night at the Buckhead Theater in Atlanta and the next night at Sky City in Augusta. They will be in New Orleans in June, but will probably miss that one. They still sound great! – Nigel

  6. copyperson June 9, 2012 at 7:20 pm #

    Blame The Producers’ demise on a bastard named Al Teller. He was the chump that originally shelved the CBS Portrait label, which included our boys, and then later, when The Producers were signed to MCA, who should oddly be the new MCA head over their record division? Yep! Al, dickhead Teller, who later was fired…but not before essentially destroying The Producers musical career. I saw them 9 times. My favorite band. Period.

    • Nigel Clarke June 11, 2012 at 7:38 am #

      Copyperson….Truer words were never spoken…but the good new is that they still get together and play occasionally. I saw them in Augusta a couple of months ago and am planning to see them again on August 22nd at Kelly’s in Nags Head, N.C. They still put on a great show!

Leave a Reply

