Hell’s Kitchen Flea Market (And A Purchase-Test Game)

2 May

Hubby, E and I are all lucky to live just a few blocks away from the Hell’s Kitchen Flea Market.

Well, Hubby doesn’t enjoy it *quite* as much as I do, or as E does – I love to wander the street (39th Street between 9th & 10th Avenues in midtown Manhattan) every Saturday and Sunday – especially during the Springtime.

They close off the whole street to vehicular traffic

and vendors set up their booths to sell their wares

I bought some of these letterpress letters for E for her birthday – Happy Birthday, E!! We love you!!!

You can find some wonderful and wacky things at this flea market, which has grown nicely over the past few years.

You can always browse through vintage clothing and jewelry

Holiday goodies

Dolls

Religious artifacts, and paintings

more wacky things

or just fun people-watching

This past weekend, I saw a fellow checking out a leather bag. He was also taking on his cell phone, and I overheard him talking about the bag. He’d set it down, walk away, and then come back to it again.

I could appreciate his indecisiveness. I know that I really want to make a purchase if I know I’d be very disappointed if someone buys the item before I do, and I lose out.

I decided to put my process to the test.

As he walked again away from the bag, I went to it and picked it up, examining it. Out of the corner of my eye, I saw the fellow stiffen.

I tested the zipper and nodded appreciatively. I looked around for the owner of the booth to get a price.

Then I set the bag back down, and walked away from it.

The fellow rushed back to it, swooped it up, and made his purchase.

A few moments later, we passed each other, made eye contact, and I congratulated him on his fine new acquisition. He was very proud, and said how afraid he was that I was going to buy the bag.

Then he walked away, head held high, bag clutched to chest.

Another happy flea-marketer.

I’m happy to have helped!

The flea market’s website says:

“Named one of the Top Ten Shopping Streets in the World by National Geographic, Hell’s Kitchen Flea Market sets the standard for distinctive vendors, where the fashion éclat, collectors and top-notch hagglers still delight at fine old things, memorabilia, original art & antique.”

And, E – take note:

WHAT
Hell’s Kitchen Flea Market celebrates Mother’s Day with the second installation of the Gourmet Food Truck Bazaar on Sunday, May 8, 2011, and every second Sunday each month through October.

A crossroads for the outdoor culinary dining experience and vintage flea market shopping, Hell’s Kitchen Flea Market Gourmet Food Truck Bazaar aims to bring the best of New York City’s gourmet food trucks together in one central location, at one of the most popular weekend destinations in New York City. Each month will feature a rotating list of featured gourmet food trucks along with over 70 vendors selling antiques and vintage fashion, as well as a pop-up section curated by The {NewNew} group–a local collective of independent Etsy artists.

WHO:    
Kimchi Taco Truck, Rickshaw Dumpling Truck,
 Cinnamon SnailVendy Award winners Schnitzel & Thingsand Kelvin Natural Slush Truck, as well as non-food truck Luke’s LobsterThe Cavity Shoppe whose cupcake in a jar sold out in 2 hours last time,  and we are happy to welcome Lloyd’s Carrot Cake to the GFTB!

WHEN:

Sunday, May 8, 2011
11AM to 5PM
(Rain date: May 15, 2011)

WHERE:
Hell’s Kitchen Flea Market
39th Street and 9th Avenue

Subway: A, C, E to 42nd St-Port Authority

This event is free and open to the public.

Enjoy! It’s a wonderfully fun way to spend part of your day!

xoxo,

SAllan

5 Responses to “Hell’s Kitchen Flea Market (And A Purchase-Test Game)”

  1. Ellen Girone May 2, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    I love flea markets! Next Sunday is Steve in Tarrytown but let me know when another good one comes around. Talk to you soon!

    Ellen

    • sallanscorner May 3, 2011 at 9:59 am #

      Hi Ellen! Ooops – too many “Es” on my blog – this call-out was meant for John’s daughter E, as she loves the food trucks. But I’m glad to know that you love flea markets – I’d love to peruse this one with you some day!
      From now on, I’ll call John’s daughter “E” and you’ll be “El” – sorry for the confusion!
      Have fun in Tarrytown and tell Steve we say “hi”!
      xoxoxoxo

  2. Ellen Girone May 3, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    Hi Sherrie,

    I knew you meant John’s daughter. I just read your blog everyday and happen to love flea markets 🙂

    xo,
    Ellen

  3. Annex Markets- Hell's Kitchen Flea Market December 4, 2013 at 4:47 pm #

    Hi Sallan!

    We are in love with you photos of our market. Would you mind if we showed them on our website? We would give credit of course.

    best regards,
    Annex Markets

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Holiday Shopping at Annex Markets! : The Annex Markets / Hell's Kitchen Flea Market - December 6, 2013

    […] (Photo Credit: Sherrie Allan- Take a look at her amazing photos of her HKFM visit here) […]

Leave a Reply

