“Chubby People” – Worth Millions?

13 Apr

Here’s a picture of my parents at their 1-year Anniversary Party, held at my Grandparents’ home.

And, here’s a picture taken 28 years later, of my Grandparents in the same dining room in their home.

What do you see in common?

This fine painting, which I got after my Grandparents passed away.

My Great Inheritance.

Hubby likes to call it “Chubby People”.

Although, truth to tell, it really depicts only 1 chubby person.

But around my New York family, it is hereby known as “Chubby People”.

I wish I knew the history of this very masterful painting.

It’s clearly a scene set in The Revolutionary War.

I think it’s original to that era.

And, it’s signed by the artist!

We had fun one day trying to decipher the artist’s signature.

Is it… Pop Wigit?

That certainly sound like a Revolutionary-era name.

If Antiques Roadshow ever comes back to New York City, I am going.

And, I’m taking this painting.

It could be worth millions.

You laugh now.

But I’ll be laughing all the way to the bank.

(And, now that HSBC has closed my neighborhood branch, and I have to go to 5th Avenue to that bank, I’ll be laughing a long, long way!)

Pops, what can you tell us about this painting? You grew up under those “Chubby People” watchful eyes.

The things I wish I had asked my Grandparents…

xoxo,

SAllan

12 Responses to ““Chubby People” – Worth Millions?”

  1. doose April 13, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    Sorry to burst your bubble, but when your Aunt Dottie got married the reception was held on one of the residential islands between Miami and Miami Beach and next door to the reception lived a neighbor who was an amatuer artist. A bunch of us, including my Mother, went over to his studio to look at his art work. Mom commented about how much she liked the “Chubby People” painting and so he gave it to her. Unless he went on to become famous,I’m afraid your dream of a million just went up in smoke.

    • sallanscorner April 14, 2011 at 8:38 am #

      Thanks for the info – I guess I really knew, deep inside, that it might not be quite so valuable. But it certainly does have charm!

  2. Johnny D April 13, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    I saved an article from the 4/6 NY Times about 2 oil paintings that hung in the rec room of a man’s childhood home in Connecticut. When his mom died, an estate removal company offered him $125 apiece for the pictures (which were in gilt frames). He had the paintings appraised by an auction house, and it turned out that they were done by a famous 19th-Century artist of the Hudson River School.
    Other similarly sized paintings by the same artist have sold for between $250,000 to $500,000.

  3. Johnny D April 13, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    It looks like there’s a ’46 underneath the artist’s signature. Could that 1946?

    • doose April 13, 2011 at 11:38 am #

      Absolutely – 1946

      • SAllan April 13, 2011 at 11:42 am #

        What year did Aunt Dottie get married?

  4. Johnny D April 13, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    The last name looks like it might be “Wight.”

    • doose April 13, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

      I believe it was 1947 because it interferred with my 16th birthday.

      • sallanscorner April 14, 2011 at 8:39 am #

        Ha – you must have hated that!

    • sallanscorner April 14, 2011 at 8:40 am #

      I’ll try to Google “Pop Wight”…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Husky » Blog Archive » chubby people pictures - June 8, 2011

    […] “Chubby People” – Worth Millions? В« SAllan's Corner “Chubby People” – Worth Millions? 13 Apr. Here's a picture of my parents at their 1-year Anniversary Party, … […]

Leave a Reply

