The Joys And The Perils Of Greenhouse Life As Told By A Curious Child

12 Apr

I am a little girl. My Mommy and my Daddy and my older Sister and I live here, outside of Atlanta in a sleepy little town called Decatur. We have a home not close to any other homes, except for the old folks, the Brooks, who live next door.

Daddy says that’s because he grows a bunch of plants, and the plants have to be kept dark at night to grow. So, we can’t be around neighborhoods with lots of lights at night-time.

Here’s me and Sister on Easter. The plants at our feet are some of Daddy’s plants that he grows and sells. Our home is back there, too. And the greenhouses behind the house.

Mommy likes to dress us up. But I don’t like that. Sometimes when she’s trying to dress me up, I run next door to our neighbors’ house. Mr. and Mrs. Brooks will let me hide there.

But, sometimes I don’t have any clothes on, so they will bring me back home.

I’m only about five years old, and I don’t know any better. It feels better than those scratchy old dresses.

We live in a wooded area. There are woods across the street. Once we walked there with Daddy, and I got poison ivy itches. I had clothes on head to toe, but I still got the itches.

The road in front of our house is really a 2-lane highway. Trucks zip by real fast. Sister and I have to keep far away.

We like to make paths through the pine straw and around the tall pine trees, and Sister will pull me in our little red wagon along the pine paths.

Sometimes we sit in the wagon on the path and wave to the truck drivers as they ride by. We like to hear them blow their loud horns hello.

Behind the house, is where our Daddy works. He has lots of greenhouses.

It’s so much fun to run around and play there. But there are a few things I shouldn’t get in to.

Like bags and bags of fertilizer.

One time I played in some – it was soft! But that was a bad thing to do, and Mommy and Daddy had to take me to the doctors.

Here’s Daddy working in one of his greenhouses.

This greenhouse roof is made of glass.

One time I was playing by a chair that was propping up some panes of glass that Daddy was going to use to replace broken glass in the greenhouse roof. I got too close and knocked over the glass, and it all broke.

I was scared that I was going to get into big trouble. I didn’t want to tell Mommy and Daddy that I had broken all that glass.

Or that I had cut my ankle. I still have a scar there, even though I’m older now.

My best friend at the greenhouses is Therman. Here he is with his own grandbabies:

Therman works with my Daddy. I go to The Shed everyday, where he eats his lunch. He brings it every day in a lunch box like this:

I love to visit Therman when it is lunch time. He teaches me things like how to hold my hands, in case I ever get kidnapped, so that I can escape. I love him very much.

Mommy, Daddy, Sister and I have a dog named Butch. He looks like this one, with my Grandma TG:

One day I was walking Butch on his leash around the greenhouses, and he somehow got one of Mr. and Mrs. Brooks’ chickens in his mouth.

I didn’t know what to do and I started to cry. I don’t know how Butch got that chicken. So I led him to our front door to have Mommy help me. I think Therman helped, too. He got that chicken away from Butch. I don’t know, but I think that chicken got hurt.

Another time, I found a little possum in our yard. He looked kind of like this:

He was so cute! He wasn’t in a tree though, he was lying on the ground. He wasn’t moving, but I knew that they sleep a lot. So, I carried him into our home and put him in my toy chest.

When Mommy found out, she took him away. I never saw him again. That made me very sad and I cried. I wanted him to wake up so we could play.

Another time, I wanted to feed this wild kitty. I don’t remember what he looked like, but maybe he looked like this:

I took a bowl of food outside for him, but he didn’t like me getting so close, so he bit my arm.

This caused a big ruckus. I didn’t understand what was happening, but Daddy had to go out every night to try to catch that kitty. People were afraid that he had Rabies, whatever that was.

Sister and I had to keep our pet kitty inside, so Daddy wouldn’t trap her, instead of the wild kitty.

I think my Daddy finally shot that kitty one night, and everything was okay after that.

Until I got bit in the face by the dog next door.

It wasn’t really the doggie’s fault. He was normally a very nice doggy. But he was eating his dinner and I wanted to play. He thought that I wanted his dinner, so he bit me.

Right in the mouth.

I had to go to the doctors again.

It seemed like I had to go there a lot.

This time I had to get stiches, and it hurt. I cried. I think my Mommy cried, too.

But I still always loved all of the animals. Cats, Dogs, Chickens, Possums. I still love them all. If bad things happen, it’s not their fault. I’m just in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Here’s Sister and me with a kitty at our Grandparent’s home:

That kitty didn’t bite us, and we loved her.

One time I was playing back behind the greenhouses. There were woods back there, too. It was fun to go back there. There was a little trash pile back in the woods. I found a book. It was called “Bambi“. I loved reading that book.

But then I read about Bambi’s Mommy getting killed. I cried and cried. I threw that book as far into the woods as I could throw it. That book made my SO sad.

I love being a little girl around the greenhouses.

And inside our cozy little home, which sat right between the greenhouses and the highway.

Here’s my Aunt and my Mommy and their good friend in our living room:

My Mommy and Daddy used to laugh and say that this friend of theirs “cussed like a sailor”. I used to love to hide and listen, to hear what a sailor sounded like. I wasn’t quite sure what I was listening for, though. But it was fun to hear the grown-ups talk.

Mommy liked to play records and I loved to sing the songs as loud as I could when I would swing outside on our swing. She called them “Show Tunes” and “Barbra Steisand” and sometimes “Christmas Records”.

I would swing higher and higher in the air, singing as loud as I could.

This isn’t me, but it’s just what I looked like:

I wasn’t supposed to, but sometimes when the swing was at its highest point, I would jump out and land in the dirt. And I never got hurt!

Sister and I were Girl Scouts, and Mommy was our Girl Scout Leader. When it was time to sell our Girl Scout Cookies, all of the cases of Cookies would be delivered to our house. They would get stacked up on our porch.

They would look like this, all around our porch, stacked almost to the ceiling:

Then all of the other Mommies and all of the other Girl Scout Leaders would come to pick up their Cookies from our porch.

Our house would smell like Girl Scout Cookies for a long, long time.

I loved that.

Not too long ago I had a loose tooth. I wanted that tooth out real bad. The Good Fairy would visit when I slept, and if I put the tooth under my pillow, she would take the tooth and leave me a quarter.

Sister helped me try to tie a string around my loose tooth on one end, and to the sliding closet door on the other end. Then we’d try to slam the door closed so it would pull out my tooth.

My Sister was real good to me like that.

I loved her.

She never seemed to get into trouble. I don’t think that Mommy and Daddy ever had to take her to the hospital.

She was real good in school. On school days, after class, she was a Crossing Guard. Mommy and I would sit in the car waiting for her, and we’d read aloud from a book called “Charlotte’s Web“.

Mommy and I both would cry and cry. I think Sister would pretend that she didn’t know us.

At night, Mommy would give me a big bubble bath. It’s so funny how dirty I could get in a day around the greenhouses! When she would start to drain the tub, and go get my towel, I would hop out and run, and go hide behind the bedroom door. She would always get scared that I had washed down the drain. She never saw my splashy footprints on the wooden floor. How I would giggle and giggle behind that door. I loved fooling my Mommy.

Finally in bed, she would rub my back until I fell asleep. G’night… Sleep tight… Don’t let the bed bugs bite…

I said this prayer every night:

“Now I lay me down to sleep

I pray the Lord my soul to keep

And if I die before I wake

I pray the Lord my soul to take.

God bless Mommy, Daddy, TG, Pawee, Grandma, Grandpa, Leigh Ann, Butch, the cats, and everything else I usually say.

Thy will be done.

Amen.”

Well, that’s all I can think of right now. Maybe Mommy and Daddy can remind me of other fun times we had, and maybe some other times that I caused trouble.

But, I didn’t ever mean to.

xoxo,

Little Girl SAllan

3 Responses to “The Joys And The Perils Of Greenhouse Life As Told By A Curious Child”

  1. Johnny D April 12, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    Great stories and great pictures! I love the photo of you and your sister with the kitt in front of the Cadillac.
    And the picture of the lunchbox. Think of all the lunches it held!

    • sallanscorner April 12, 2011 at 11:24 am #

      Thanks! I wish I had pictures of Mr. & Mrs. Brooks. You know and love Mrs. Brooks’ Cornbread Dressing.

      Therman was THE BEST. I wonder how many lunches he carried in that old box.

  2. doose April 13, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    Did you know that when we took you to Emergency with the dog bite two policemen came to question us about your injury. Bryan said they wanted to make sure it was the dog, not us. I loved this blog. Moose

Leave a Reply

